Seminar on press and publicity work for employees of the Kosovo Prosecutorial Council

Practical exercises in media training for press officers in Kosovo
Practical exercises in media training for press officers in Kosovo
Kosovo

A seminar on press and publicity work was held in Pristina from 18 to 20 March 2019, in partnership with the Kosovo Prosecutorial Council. The event was targeted at press officers from various public prosecutors’ offices in Kosovo. Taking part on the German side were Wolf-Tilman Baumert, Senior Public Prosecutor and Press Officer at the Wuppertal Public Prosecutor’s Office and freelance journalist Wolfram Lumpe.

As part of its bilateral cooperation with Kosovo, the IRZ has already provided various activities on this subject. The aim of the three-day seminar was to give participants a better understanding of the organisation and structure of press and publicity work and to demonstrate, using practical examples, the ideal format for oral and written communications by and with opinion formers.

The topics of the seminar were:

  • the objectives of media work,
  • the interests of media representatives,
  • the authorities’ responsibilities for press announcements and
  • the contents of press announcements, taking the procedural situation into account, in particular as far as the presumption of innocence is concerned (investigative proceedings, court proceedings and information about legally-binding decisions in proceedings).

During the seminar, the participants were given the opportunity of working on practical exercises on the individual areas of press and publicity work. To this end, numerous interviews and press conferences were simulated. The objective here was to demonstrate the correct code of conduct in front of the camera and how to give high quality interviews, the practicalities and division of responsibilities at a press conference and how to give a short but informative statement to media representatives.

The experts evaluated all the interviews recorded by the participants and gave them professional feedback. This feedback related to the content as well as to body language. To provide even more clarity on what a press conference is all about and the mistakes to be avoided, the experts showed video clips of successful and unsuccessful press conferences and TV interviews, which they then discussed with the participants.

The participants showed a great deal of interest and said that they found the seminar very enriching and useful for their everyday work. There are plans to organise a follow-up event in June this year.

Study visit to Germany by a delegation from the Kosovo Prosecutorial Council

The delegation from Kosovo attending talks at the Public Prosecutor’s Office in Düsseldorf
The delegation from Kosovo attending talks at the Public Prosecutor’s Office in Düsseldorf
Kosovo

On 3 and 4 December 2018, a delegation from the Kosovo Prosecutorial Council visited Düsseldorf and Wuppertal by invitation of the IRZ. The subject of the two-day working visit was press and publicity work at public prosecutor’s offices, courts and police authorities in Germany. The aim of the visit was to allow an exchange between German and Kosovan colleagues, providing them with an insight into the daily work of the German institutions.

The visit began with expert discussions at the Public Prosecutor’s Office in Wuppertal, where the delegation was welcomed by Wolf-Tilman Baumert, Senior Public Prosecutor and Press Officer at the Wuppertal Public Prosecutor’s Office. During these expert discussions, the Kosovan guests learned, with the help of practical examples, about subjects including the organisation and structure of the press office, the legal framework for press work in the public prosecutor’s office and crisis management. The participants in the delegation showed a great deal of interest in the subject and took an active part in the discussions.

Another stop on the visit was at the Local and Regional Court of Düsseldorf. Here the guests from Kosovo discussed “Cooperation between the media and justice” with the Presiding Judge and Press Officer for the Regional Court of Düsseldorf, Dr. Elisabeth Stöve.

To look at these topics in more detail, the delegation visited the police headquarters in Neuss and the Public Prosecutor’s Office in Düsseldorf on the second day of their visit. Here they discussed:

  • Cooperation between the police and the public prosecutor’s office in the area of publicity work,
  • the authority’s demarcation of powers and crisis communications, looking at various practical examples and controversial cases.
It was very enriching for the Kosovan partners to learn about several different institutions and their press work. The cooperation between the IRZ and the KPC will therefore continue in 2019.

Kosovan delegation on a study visit to Germany to learn about crime prevention and the reintegration of young people

During the meeting with the law enforcement commissioner for the NRW region, Prof. Dr. Michael Kubink (at the end of the table on the right)
During the meeting with the law enforcement commissioner for the NRW region, Prof. Dr. Michael Kubink (at the end of the table on the right)
Kosovo

From 22 to 25 October 2018, Kosovan representatives from various non-governmental organisations and the Deputy Ombudsperson of Kosovo visited Germany to attend talks. The subjects discussed during this study visit, which was organised by the IRZ in partnership with UNICEF Kosovo, were crime prevention and the reintegration of young people in Germany, using the North Rhine-Westphalia region as an example.

The intensive specialist programme was therefore divided into two sections. On the first day, the delegation had the opportunity to find out about the crime prevention programmes and initiatives in the NRW region at talks held at the Ministry of Justice for North Rhine-Westphalia. The Kosovan guests then attended a meeting with the law enforcement commissioner for the NRW region, who is based in Cologne, during which they were able to discuss the roles and responsibilities of this position.

The programme for the second day included visits to three civil society institutions, which play a central role in Cologne in the prevention of violence and in reintegration. The delegation learned about the various roles and framework conditions of these institutions. During talks with the Brücke Köln e.V. association, for example, the large number of non-custodial measures, which are being carried out at various sites in Cologne, were presented. The objective of the association, which acts as an interface between the City of Cologne and the judiciary, is to avoid the arrest of young people. This is also an objective, which is gaining increasing importance in Kosovo.

The main focus at the Förderverein Bewährungshilfe Köln e.V., an association supporting the probation service, was on presenting the concept of the home. The Förderverein provides accommodation in Cologne. Residents can benefit from special deals and the support of an educational team to help them towards independence and living crime-free lives.

To round off this visit, the delegation was given the opportunity to learn about the work of the association called 180 Grad Wende. This association has an impressive concept for developing prospects for a life without violence, both by preventing violence and by working with prisoners.

The delegation was accompanied by former judge Michael Klein who worked for many years as a juvenile court judge at the Local Court of Cologne and who continues to be involved in this field on a voluntary basis.

Seminar für Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Kosovo Prosecutorial Council zum Thema Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Praktische Übungen beim Medientraining für Pressesprecherinnen und Pressesprecher in Kosovo
Praktische Übungen beim Medientraining für Pressesprecherinnen und Pressesprecher in Kosovo
Kosovo

Vom 18. bis 20. März 2019 fand in Kooperation mit dem „Kosovo Prosecutorial Council“ ein Seminar zum Thema Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit in Pristina statt. Die Veranstaltung richtete sich an Pressesprecherinnen und Pressesprecher der verschiedenen Staatsanwaltschaften in Kosovo. Von deutscher Seite wirkten Wolf-Tilman Baumert, Leitender Oberstaatsanwalt und Pressesprecher bei der Staatsanwaltschaft Wuppertal, sowie der freie Journalist Wolfram Lumpe mit.

Im Rahmen der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit mit Kosovo hat die IRZ bereits zahlreiche Maßnahmen zu dieser Thematik angeboten. Das dreitägige Seminar hatte zum Ziel, den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern Aufbau und Struktur der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit näher zu bringen und anhand praktischer Beispiele die optimale Gestaltung der mündlichen und schriftlichen Kommunikation von und mit Multiplikatoren aufzuzeigen.

Themen des Seminars waren:

  • Ziele von Medienarbeit,
  • Interessenlage von Medienvertretern,
  • Zuständigkeiten für Medienauskünfte bei Behörden sowie
  • Inhalt der Medienauskunft unter Beachtung der prozessualen Situation, insbesondere der ggf. zu beachtenden Unschuldsvermutung (Ermittlungsverfahren, gerichtliches Verfahren und Auskunft über rechtskräftig entschiedene Verfahren).

Im Rahmen dieses Seminars hatten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit, zu den einzelnen Tätigkeitsfeldern der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit praktische Übungen zu absolvieren. Zu diesem Zweck wurden zahlreiche Interviews und Pressekonferenzen simuliert. Dabei ging es darum aufzuzeigen, wie man sich vor der Kamera richtig verhält und qualitativ gute Interviews gibt, wie der Ablauf und die Rollenverteilung bei einer Pressekonferenz sind und wie man vor Medienvertretern ein kurzes, aber informatives Statement abgeben kann.

Die Experten werteten alle aufgenommenen Interviews von Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern aus und gaben diesen ein professionelles Feedback. Dabei gingen sie sowohl auf den Inhalt als auch auf die Körpersprache ein. Um noch anschaulicher zu machen, worauf es bei einer Pressekonferenz ankommt und welche Fehler vermieden werden sollten, zeigten die Experten Videomitschnitte von gelungenen und misslungenen Pressekonferenzen und Fernsehinterviews, die sie anschließend mit den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern diskutierten.

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer zeigten sich sehr interessiert, fanden das Seminar sehr bereichernd und für die tägliche Arbeit sehr nützlich. Es ist beabsichtigt, eine Folgeveranstaltung im Juni dieses Jahres anzubieten.

Studienbesuch einer Delegation vom „Kosovo Prosecutorial Council“ in Deutschland

Delegation aus Kosovo zum Gespräch bei der Staatsanwaltschaft Düsseldorf
Delegation aus Kosovo zum Gespräch bei der Staatsanwaltschaft Düsseldorf
Kosovo

Am 3. und 4. Dezember 2018 hielt sich auf Einladung der IRZ eine Delegation vom „Kosovo Prosecutorial Council“ in Düsseldorf und Wuppertal auf. Thema des zweitägigen Arbeitsbesuchs war die Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit bei Staatsanwaltschaften, Gerichten und Polizeibehörden in Deutschland. Ziel dieses Besuches war es, einen Austausch zwischen deutschen und kosovarischen Kolleginnen und Kollegen zu ermöglichen und so einen Einblick in die tägliche Arbeit der deutschen Institutionen zu vermitteln.

Der Aufenthalt begann mit einem Fachgespräch in der Staatsanwaltschaft Wuppertal, wo Wolf-Tilman Baumert, Oberstaatsanwalt und Pressesprecher der Staatsanwaltschaft Wuppertal, die Delegation in Empfang nahm. Im Rahmen dieses Fachgesprächs informierten sich die kosovarischen Gäste über Themen wie Aufbau und Struktur des Pressesprecherwesens, rechtliche Vorgaben für die Pressearbeit der Staatsanwaltschaft und über Krisenmanagement anhand praktischer Beispiele. Die Delegationsteilnehmer zeigten großes Interesse an dieser Thematik und beteiligten sich aktiv an den Diskussionen.

Eine weitere Station des Besuchs war das Amts-und Landgericht Düsseldorf. Hier tauschten sich die Gäste aus Kosovo mit der Vorsitzenden Richterin und Pressesprecherin des Landgerichts Düsseldorf, Dr. Elisabeth Stöve, über das Thema „Zusammenarbeit von Medien und Justiz“ aus.

Zur Vertiefung dieser Themen besuchte die Delegation am zweiten Tag des Aufenthalts die Polizei Neuss und die Staatsanwaltschaft Düsseldorf. Zur Sprache kamen hier:

  • die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Polizei und Staatsanwaltschaft im Bereich der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit,
  • die Abgrenzung der Kompetenzen und die Krisenkommunikation der Behörde anhand zahlreicher Praxisbeispiele und brisanter Fälle.
Es war für die kosovarischen Partner erkenntnisreich, mehrere Institutionen und deren Pressearbeit kennenzulernen. Die Zusammenarbeit der IRZ mit dem KPC wird daher 2019 fortgesetzt werden.

Studienreise einer kosovarischen Delegation zum Thema Kriminalprävention und Resozialisierung von Jugendlichen nach Deutschland

Während des Gesprächs mit dem Justizvollzugsbeauftragten des Landes NRW, Prof. Dr. Michael Kubink (rechts, Tischende)
Während des Gesprächs mit dem Justizvollzugsbeauftragten des Landes NRW, Prof. Dr. Michael Kubink (rechts, Tischende)
Kosovo

Vom 22. bis 25. Oktober 2018 reisten kosovarische Vertreterinnen und Vertreter verschiedener Nichtregierungsorganisationen sowie die stellvertretende Ombudsperson Kosovos zu Gesprächen nach Deutschland. Themen der Studienreise, die im Rahmen der Kooperation der IRZ mit UNICEF Kosovo stattfand, waren die Kriminalprävention und Resozialisierung Jugendlicher in Deutschland am Beispiel Nordrhein-Westfalens.

Das intensive Fachprogramm gliederte sich dabei in zwei Teile. Am ersten Tag hatte die Delegation Gelegenheit, bei Gesprächen im nordrhein-westfälischen Justizministerium die Programme und Initiativen des Landes NRW im Bereich Kriminalprävention kennenzulernen. Zudem konnten die kosovarischen Gäste in einem anschließenden Gespräch mit dem Justizvollzugsbeauftragten des Landes NRW, der in Köln seinen Sitz hat, dessen Rolle und Aufgaben diskutieren.

Am zweiten Tag standen Besuche von drei zivilgesellschaftlichen Einrichtungen auf dem Programm, die in Köln eine zentrale Rolle in der Gewaltprävention und Resozialisierung spielen. Dort machte sich Delegation mit den verschiedenen Aufgaben und Rahmenbedingungen dieser Einrichtungen vertraut. So wurden im Gespräch mit dem Verein Brücke Köln e.V. u.a. die Vielzahl von ambulanten Maßnahmen vorgestellt, die in unterschiedlichen Einsatzstellen in Köln durchgeführt werden. Ziel der Einrichtung, die als Schnittstelle zwischen der Stadt Köln und der Justiz fungiert, ist die Arrestvermeidung von Jugendlichen. Ein Ziel, das auch in Kosovo immer mehr in den Fokus rückt.

Die Vorstellung des Heimkonzepts stand sodann beim Förderverein Bewährungshilfe Köln e.V. im Mittelpunkt. Der Förderverein betreibt eine Unterkunft in Köln. Dort werden spezielle Angebote für die Bewohner gemacht, um sie mit Unterstützung eines pädagogischen Teams an ein deliktfreies und selbstständiges Leben heranzuführen.

Als Abschluss der Reise hatte die Delegation die Möglichkeit, sich ein Bild von der Arbeit des Vereins 180 Grad Wende zu machen. Im Rahmen eines beindruckenden Konzepts werden dort sowohl in der Gewaltprävention als auch in der Zusammenarbeit mit Inhaftierten Perspektiven für ein gewaltfreies Leben entwickelt.

Begleitet wurde die Delegation von Richter a.D. Michael Klein, der selbst viele Jahrzehnte als Jugendrichter am Amtsgericht Köln tätig war und dem Thema auch nach seiner aktiven Zeit als Richter weiterhin ehrenamtlich verbunden ist.