Seminar on media relations at constitutional courts

  • During the seminar

    During the seminar

  • Speaker Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann

    Speaker Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann

  • Participants

    Participants

  • Participants

    Participants

  • Prof. Dr. Bergmann during discussions

    Prof. Dr. Bergmann during discussions

On 14 July 2016, the Presiding Judge at the Administrative Court of Mannheim, Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, gave a lecture on “Media relations at constitutional courts” to judges and expert employees at the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Kosovo in Priština.

His lecture was part of a full-day seminar, which was financed by funds from the German Federal Foreign Office. The objective was to give participants a clearer insight into how constitutional courts deal with the media.

In the morning, Professor Bergmann explained the importance of active public relations work and introduced the practical advantages. As a next step, he presented the basic structures of public relations work, using the German Constitutional Court in Karlsruhe as an example. Another topic covered the requirements of media representatives at court.

The afternoon was devoted to a questions and answers session with participants. This led to interesting discussions about, for example, the interpretation of case law in the press and how transparency and confidentiality can be weighed up against each other.

Expert talks held in Hanover and Göttingen on the juvenile justice system

  • During the trial at the local court in Göttingen

    During the trial at the local court in Göttingen

  • Probation officer Silke Grotkop during her presentation

    Probation officer Silke Grotkop during her presentation

  • Stefan Scherrer, a local court judge; James Mugaju, UNICEF Kosovo; Director of the local court Dr. Dietmar Brosche; Deputy Minister of Justice in Kosovo, Lirak Celaj; IRZ expert Dr. Peter Best (1st row, left to right)

    Stefan Scherrer, a local court judge; James Mugaju, UNICEF Kosovo; Director of the local court Dr. Dietmar Brosche; Deputy Minister of Justice in Kosovo, Lirak Celaj; IRZ expert Dr. Peter Best (1st row, left to right)

  • In the workshop at the Göttingen juvenile detention facility

    In the workshop at the Göttingen juvenile detention facility

From 6 to 9 July 2016, a delegation from Kosovo led by Deputy Minister of Justice, Lirak Celaj, and Deputy Leader of UNICEF Kosovo, James Mugaju, attended expert discussions in Hanover and Göttingen.

The delegation of seven people began their expert talks on the juvenile justice system with a visit to the Lower Saxony Ministry of Justice in Hanover. The head of department for law enforcement, Christiane Jesse, gave a short and concise introduction to the subject, supported by her colleagues Markwart and Starke.

The following day was devoted to practical experience and the guests were given the opportunity to attend two hearings at the local court in Göttingen. Following a welcome speech by the director, Dr. Dietmar Brosche, a judge at the local court, Stefan Scherrer, described the cases, in which the offenders had already reached the age of 18. The day spent at the local court was rounded off with extremely interesting talks given by probation officer Silke Grotkop (“Duties of the probation officers in juvenile criminal proceedings”) and social worker Karin Faber from the Verein Jugendhilfe Süd-Niedersachsen e.V., an association providing support for young people in the southern part of the Lower Saxony region, on “Services for young offenders outside the prison system”.

On the third and last day of the study visit, there was a visit to the juvenile detention facility in Göttingen and the open prison for young offenders. The guests were given a guided tour of both institutions and a detailed explanation of the concept behind each establishment. In this way, they were able to get a clear insight into the juvenile detention facility and the open prison and find out at close hand about the everyday lives of young offenders.

The professional visit was funded by the German Federal Ministry of Justice.

Twinning project: IRZ experts meet in Bonn

  • Veronika Keller-Engels, Managing Director of the  IRZ, Project Manager Dr. Peter Best and long-term expert Marius Fiedler (left to right)

    Veronika Keller-Engels, Managing Director of the IRZ, Project Manager Dr. Peter Best and long-term expert Marius Fiedler (left to right)

  • Marius Fiedler, Rüdiger Wohlgemuth, Diana Krauthausen, Pascal Décarpes and Stephan Schnaars (left to right)

    Marius Fiedler, Rüdiger Wohlgemuth, Diana Krauthausen, Pascal Décarpes and Stephan Schnaars (left to right)

  • Torben Adams, Stefan Thier, Kerstin Jöricke, Dr. Thomas Matusche and Helmut Krone (left to right)

    Torben Adams, Stefan Thier, Kerstin Jöricke, Dr. Thomas Matusche and Helmut Krone (left to right)

  • Rüdiger Wohlgemuth, Diana Krauthausen, Pascal Décarpes and Stephan Schnaars (left to right)

    Rüdiger Wohlgemuth, Diana Krauthausen, Pascal Décarpes and Stephan Schnaars (left to right)

  • Group photo of all the participants in the meeting

    Group photo of all the participants in the meeting

On 15 January 2016, a meeting was held at the IRZ offices in Bonn between short-term experts on the "Strengthening the correctional and probation services in Kosovo" twinning project. This was the second meeting of its kind, following an initial event held in December 2014.

The Project

As far as its prison and probation services are concerned, Kosovo is on course for applying European standards. The IRZ has been implementing the EU twinning project alongside its French junior partner, Justice Coopération Internationale (JCI), since August 2014 and has been supporting the recently formed Republic of Kosovo with expertise and financial aid. The project, which is receiving EU funding amounting to EUR 1.7 million, intends to make a contribution towards developing European standards in the prison system, further developing the probation service and hence ensuring that alternatives to prison are available.

The first meeting was predominantly about getting to know one another and finding out about the experts' set ideas and expectations, as well as what they hoped to achieve by cooperating in this project. The objective for the second meeting was to review the first 17 months of the project and to plan the remaining 7 months before project completion.

Following a welcome address by IRZ Managing Director, Veronika Keller-Engels, Twinning Coordinator Johannes Schlicht provided an overview of all the twinning projects currently being supported by the IRZ and those that will soon be underway. Project Manager Dr. Peter Best then presented the current status of the above-mentioned project in Kosovo. Long-term expert Marius Fiedler added to this presentation with an interesting speech on the political situation in the country.

The ensuing discussions between the experts were lively and enriching for all those involved.

Seminar zur Medienarbeit bei Verfassungsgerichten

  • Während des Seminars

    Während des Seminars

  • Referent Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann

    Referent Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann

  • Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

    Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

  • Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

    Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

  • Prof. Dr. Bergmann während der Diskussion

    Prof. Dr. Bergmann während der Diskussion

Am 14. Juli 2016 hielt der Vorsitzende Richter am Verwaltungsgerichtshof Mannheim, Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, in Pristina vor Richterinnen und Richtern sowie wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern des Verfassungsgerichts der Republik Kosovo einen Vortrag zum Thema „Verfassungsgerichtliche Medienarbeit“.

Sein Vortrag war teil eines ganztägigen Seminars, das mit Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes finanziert werden konnte. Es hatte zum Ziel, den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern den Umgang eines Verfassungsgerichts mit Medien näher zu bringen.

Am Vormittag erläuterte Professor Bergmann die Wichtigkeit einer aktiven professionellen Pressearbeit und stellte deren praktische Vorteile dar. Im nächsten Schritt stellte er die Grundstrukturen der Pressearbeit am Beispiel des Bundesverfassungsgerichts in Karlsruhe vor. Ein weiteres Thema waren die Anforderungen an Medienvertreter bei Gericht.

Der Nachmittag diente dazu, den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern Rede und Antwort zu stehen. Angeregte Diskussionen gab es u.a. zur Interpretation der Rechtsprechung in der Presse und darüber, wie Transparenz und Vertraulichkeit gegeneinander abgewogen werden können.

Fachgespräche zur Jugendgerichtsbarkeit in Hannover und Göttingen

  • Während der Verhandlung beim Amtsgericht Göttingen

    Während der Verhandlung beim Amtsgericht Göttingen

  • Bewährungshelferin Silke Grotkop bei ihrem Vortrag

    Bewährungshelferin Silke Grotkop bei ihrem Vortrag

  • RiAG Stefan Scherrer; James Mugaju, UNICEF Kosovo; DirAG Dr. Dietmar Brosche; stellv. Justizminister des Kosovo, Lirak Celaj; IRZ-Experte Dr. Peter Best (1. Reihe v.l.n.r.)

    RiAG Stefan Scherrer; James Mugaju, UNICEF Kosovo; DirAG Dr. Dietmar Brosche; stellv. Justizminister des Kosovo, Lirak Celaj; IRZ-Experte Dr. Peter Best (1. Reihe v.l.n.r.)

  • In der Werkhalle der Jugendarrestanstalt Göttingen

    In der Werkhalle der Jugendarrestanstalt Göttingen

Vom 6. bis 9. Juli 2016 hielt sich eine kosovarische Delegation unter Leitung des stellvertretenden Justizministers Lirak Celaj sowie dem stellvertretenden Leiter von UNICEF Kosovo, James Mugaju, zu Fachgesprächen in Hannover und Göttingen auf.

Die siebenköpfige Delegation begann ihre Fachgespräche zum Thema Jugendgerichtsbarkeit mit einem Besuch beim Niedersächsischen Justizministerium in Hannover. Die Abteilungsleiterin für den Justizvollzug, Christiane Jesse, führte mit einem kurzen und prägnanten Vortrag in die Thematik ein, unterstützt von ihren Kolleginnen Markwart und Starke.

Der folgende Tag war der Praxis gewidmet, und die Gäste hatten die Möglichkeit, zwei Gerichtsverhandlungen beim Amtsgericht Göttingen beizuwohnen. Nach der Begrüßung durch Direktor Dr. Dietmar Brosche übernahm Richter am Amtsgericht Stefan Scherrer die Erläuterung zu den anschaulichen Fällen, in denen die Straftäter bereits das 18. Lebensjahr vollendet hatten. Der Tag beim Amtsgericht wurde durch äußerst interessante Vorträge der Bewährungshelferin Silke Grotkop („Aufgabe der Bewährungshilfe im Jugendstrafverfahren“) und der Sozialpädagogin Karin Faber vom Verein Jugendhilfe Süd-Niedersachsen e.V. („Ambulante Angebote im Jugendstrafrecht“) abgerundet.

Am dritten und letzten Tag der Studienreise stand der Besuch der Jugendarrestanstalt Göttingen sowie des Offenen Jugendvollzuges auf dem Programm. Die Gäste erhielten Führungen durch beide Häuser und eine eingehende Erläuterung des jeweiligen Anstaltskonzeptes. Auf diese Weise konnten sie konkrete Einblicke in die Jugendarrestanstalt und den Offenen Jugendvollzug gewinnen und den Alltag der jugendlichen Straftäter aus nächster Nähe kennenlernen.

Der Fachbesuch konnte mit Mitteln des Bundesjustizministeriums finanziert werden.

Twinning-Projekt: IRZ-Expertentreffen in Bonn

  • Veronika Keller-Engels, Geschäftsführerin der IRZ, Projektleiter Dr. Peter Best und Langzeitexperte Marius Fiedler (v.l.n.r.)

    Veronika Keller-Engels, Geschäftsführerin der IRZ, Projektleiter Dr. Peter Best und Langzeitexperte Marius Fiedler (v.l.n.r.)

  • Marius Fiedler, Rüdiger Wohlgemuth, Diana Krauthausen, Pascal Décarpes und Stephan Schnaars (v.l.n.r.)

    Marius Fiedler, Rüdiger Wohlgemuth, Diana Krauthausen, Pascal Décarpes und Stephan Schnaars (v.l.n.r.)

  • Torben Adams, Stefan Thier, Kerstin Jöricke, Dr. Thomas Matusche und Helmut Krone (v.l.n.r.)

    Torben Adams, Stefan Thier, Kerstin Jöricke, Dr. Thomas Matusche und Helmut Krone (v.l.n.r.)

  • Rüdiger Wohlgemuth, Diana Krauthausen, Pascal Décarpes und Stephan Schnaars (v.l.n.r.)

    Rüdiger Wohlgemuth, Diana Krauthausen, Pascal Décarpes und Stephan Schnaars (v.l.n.r.)

  • Gruppenbild der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Treffens

    Gruppenbild der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Treffens

Am 15. Januar 2016 fand auf Einladung der IRZ ein Treffen mit Kurzzeitexperten des Twinning-Projektes „Strengthening the correctional and probation services in Kosovo" in den Räumlichkeiten der IRZ in Bonn statt. Nach einer Vorgängerveranstaltung im Dezember 2014 war es bereits die zweite Zusammenkunft dieser Art.

Das Projekt

Im Strafvollzug und in der Bewährungshilfe ist Kosovo auf einem guten Weg, europäische Standards anzuwenden. Zusammen mit dem französischen Juniorpartner Justice Coopération Internationale (JCI) implementiert die IRZ seit August 2014 das oben genannte EU-Twinning-Projekt und unterstützt dabei die noch junge Republik Kosovo mit Expertise und finanziellen Mitteln. Das Projekt, für das die EU Mittel in Höhe von rund 1,7 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung gestellt hat, will einen Beitrag zur Entwicklung europäischer Standards im Strafvollzug leisten, die Bewährungshilfe weiterentwickeln und damit für Alternativen zum Strafvollzug sorgen.

Beim ersten Treffen war es vornehmlich um das gegenseitige Kennenlernen gegangen und darum, die konkreten Vorstellungen und Erwartungen der Expertinnen und Experten sowie deren Anregungen und Wünsche für die Zusammenarbeit an dem Projekt in Erfahrung zu bringen. Bei der zweiten Veranstaltung ging es um eine erste Bilanz nach 17 Projektmonaten und eine Vorschau auf die noch verbleibenden sieben Projektmonate.

Nachdem die Geschäftsführerin der IRZ, Veronika Keller-Engels, die Gäste begrüßt hatte, gab Johannes Schlicht als Twinning-Koordinator der IRZ einen Überblick über alle Twinning-Projekte, die derzeit von der IRZ beworben werden bzw. kurz vor der Implementierung stehen. Anschließend führte der Projektleiter Dr. Peter Best in den derzeitigen Stand des oben genannten Projektes in Kosovo ein. Langzeitexperte Marius Fiedler ergänzte die Einführung mit einem interessanten Beitrag über die politische Lage im Land.

Die sich daran anknüpfenden Diskussionen zwischen den Expertinnen und Experten waren lebhaft und für alle Beteiligten bereichernd