Continued cooperation with the University of Pristina

  • Prof. Dr. Visar Morina, Dean Prof. Dr. Haxhi Gashi, Vice-Dean Prof. Dr. Iliriana Islami (left to right)

    Prof. Dr. Visar Morina, Dean Prof. Dr. Haxhi Gashi, Vice-Dean Prof. Dr. Iliriana Islami (left to right)

  • Nevila Saja, Prof. Dr. Rainer Arnold, Prof. Dr. Enver Hasani, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reimann (left to right)

    Nevila Saja, Prof. Dr. Rainer Arnold, Prof. Dr. Enver Hasani, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reimann (left to right)

  • During the lecture

    During the lecture

  • During the lecture by Prof. Dr. Reimann

    During the lecture by Prof. Dr. Reimann

On 15 December 2015, the IRZ organised three lectures on the subject of "European Law" for Kosovan students from the Faculty of Law at the University of Pristina. We were fortunate to be able to welcome back all three of the lecturers from the same event in 2013: Professor Rainer Arnold, Professor Wolfgang Reimann and Nevila Saja.

Following a warm welcome from the Dean of the faculty, Professor Dr. Haxhi Gashi, and from the Vice-Dean, Professor Dr. Iliriana Islami, Professor Dr. Rainer Arnold, who holds the Chair of Public Law and the Jean Monnet Chair of European Law at the University of Regensburg, began the series of lectures with his talk on the "EU and German Constitutional Law" and the "Internationalisation of Fundamental Rights Protection".

Next came a contribution from Professor Dr. Wolfgang Reimann, Honorary Professor of Civil Law and Contracts at the University of Regensburg, under the title "The impact of EU law on German Company Law". Nevila Saja, a graduate of the Elite East European Studies course at the University of Regensburg, brought the day of lectures to a close with her talk on the highly topical subject of "Refugee Law – German/EU influence".

Following on from these lectures, there were some lively and animated discussions with the students, reflecting the high level of interest in the lectures. These discussions were moderated by Professor Dr. Enver Hasani, the former President of the Constitutional Court of Kosovo, Dr. Visar Morina, a Professor of Constitutional Law and the Vice-Dean, Iliriana Islami.

The Faculty of Law at the University of Pristina is an important and established partner in the bilateral cooperation between the IRZ and the Republic of Kosovo. This successful and valuable cooperation is set to continue in 2016.

Delegation of the Kosovan Ministry of Justice visiting Berlin

  • During the expert talk at the German Judicial Academy in Wustrau

    During the expert talk at the German Judicial Academy in Wustrau

  • The Director of the German Judicial Academy, Dr. Stefan Tratz, (left) and the State Secretary of Kosovo, Eset Rama

    The Director of the German Judicial Academy, Dr. Stefan Tratz, (left) and the State Secretary of Kosovo, Eset Rama

  • Group photo of the visit to Wustrau

    Group photo of the visit to Wustrau

From 30 November to 4 December 2015, a delegation of five members of the Kosovan Ministry of Justice visited the German capital. The high-ranking visitors were headed by State Secretary Eset Rama.

The programme included a full-day visit of the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection, BMJV. At the BMJV, the delegation had intensive expert discussions about the implementation of the Treaty on Mutual Assistance between Germany and Kosovo, which had been signed in June this year. The discussions covered the fight against corruption as part of the international cooperation in criminal matters, legislative procedures and the drafting of law texts.

Further highlights of the visit to Germany were an expert talk with members of the German-Southeast European Parliamentary group of the German Bundestag as well as a visit of the German Judicial Academy in Wustrau. The Academy's director, Dr. Stefan Tratz, lead through the programme which covered the organisation and working methods of the German Judicial Academy.

The one-week working visit took place as part the bilateral cooperation between the IRZ and the Republic of Kosovo and was financed by the German Foreign Ministry.

Kosovo-German Seminar on Fighting Corruption

  • Helmut Leithäuser, Regional Court of Wuppertal; Dr. Matthias Hartwig, Max Planck Institute; Hasan Petreni, Kosovo Anti-Corruption Agency; Shqipdon Fazliu, Kosovo Public Prosecutor

    Helmut Leithäuser, Regional Court of Wuppertal; Dr. Matthias Hartwig, Max Planck Institute; Hasan Petreni, Kosovo Anti-Corruption Agency; Shqipdon Fazliu, Kosovo Public Prosecutor's Office (left to right)

  • Participants in the seminar

    Participants in the seminar

  • During the seminar

    During the seminar

The first seminar on "Fighting Corruption" was held by invitation of the IRZ in Pristina on 26 and 27 November 2015. Eradicating corruption is one of the conditions for Kosovo's entry to the EU.

Speakers at the bilateral seminar included, from the German side, Dr. Matthias Hartwig from the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law in Heidelberg and Helmut Leithäuser, Presiding Judge at the Regional Court of Wuppertal. From Kosovo, the Director of the Anti-Corruption Agency, Hasan Petreni, and the coordinator of the fight against corruption at the Public Prosecutor's Office, Shqipdon Fazliu, agreed to contribute to the seminar with news of the current situation from the Kosovan point of view.

Dr. Hartwig opened the seminar with a keynote speech providing an overview of how corruption can arise in government, business and society. Helmut Leithäuser added to this lecture with a descriptive report on the daily work of a presiding judge at a major court dealing with cases of commercial law.

During the seminar, a lively discussion started up as to whether existing anti-corruption laws in Kosovo are in fact sufficient, when Kosovo is currently ranked 110 on the Transparency International corruption index. As a result of this meeting, it was established that Kosovo has managed to introduce the legal foundations for combating corruption in the country. The question remains, however, as to whether the existing laws are sufficient and whether they are strictly enforced.

Participants in the seminar, which was financed by funds from the German Federal Foreign Office, mostly included judges from the Supreme Court, research staff from the Constitutional Court and the Supreme Court and staff from the Kosovo Ministry of Justice.

Fortsetzung der Kooperation mit der Universität Pristina

  • Prof. Dr. Visar Morina, Dekan Prof. Dr. Haxhi Gashi, Vize-Dekanin Prof. Dr. Iliriana Islami (v.l.n.r.)

    Prof. Dr. Visar Morina, Dekan Prof. Dr. Haxhi Gashi, Vize-Dekanin Prof. Dr. Iliriana Islami (v.l.n.r.)

  • Nevila Saja, Prof. Dr. Rainer Arnold, Prof. Dr. Enver Hasani, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reimann (v.l.n.r.)

    Nevila Saja, Prof. Dr. Rainer Arnold, Prof. Dr. Enver Hasani, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reimann (v.l.n.r.)

  • Während der Vorlesung

    Während der Vorlesung

  • Während der Vorlesung von Prof. Dr. Reimann

    Während der Vorlesung von Prof. Dr. Reimann

Die IRZ organisierte am 15. Dezember 2015 drei Vorlesungen zum Thema „Europäisches Recht" für kosovarische Studentinnen und Studenten der Juristischen Fakultät der Universität Pristina. Wir konnten erfreulicherweise die beiden Dozenten und die Dozentin der Vorlesungen von 2013 erneut für die Veranstaltung gewinnen: Professor Rainer Arnold, Professor Wolfgang Reimann und Nevila Saja.

Nach der herzlichen Begrüßung durch den Dekan Professor Dr. Haxhi Gashi und die Vize-Dekanin Professor Dr. Iliriana Islami machte Professor Dr. Rainer Arnold, der den Lehrstuhl für Öffentliches Recht sowie den Jean-Monnet-Lehrstuhl für Europarecht an der Universität Regensburg innehat, den Anfang mit seiner Vorlesung zu den Themen „EU and German Constitutional Law" und „Internationalization of Fundamental Rights Protection".

Es folgte der Beitrag von Professor Dr. Wolfgang Reimann, Honorarprofessor für bürgerliches Recht und Vertragsgestaltung an der Universität Regensburg, unter der Überschrift „The impact of EU Law on German Company Law". Nevila Saja, Absolventin des Elite-Studiengangs Osteuropastudien der Universität Regensburg, beschloss den Vorlesungstag mit ihrer Ausführung zum hochaktuellen Thema „Refugee Law – German/EU influence".

Den Vorträgen folgte ein reger und lebhafter Austausch mit den Studentinnen und Studenten, der das große Interesse an den Vorlesungen widerspiegelte. Moderiert wurden die Diskussionen von Professor Dr. Enver Hasani, dem ehemaligen Präsidenten des kosovarischen Verfassungsgerichts, Dr. Visar Morina, Professor für Verfassungsrecht, und der Vize-Dekanin Ilriana Islami.

Für die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit zwischen der IRZ und der Republik Kosovo ist die Rechtsfakultät der Universität in Pristina ein wichtiger und bewährter Partner. Auch für das Jahr 2016 ist eine Fortsetzung dieser guten und wertvollen Zusammenarbeit vorgesehen.

Arbeitsbesuch einer Delegation des kosovarischen Justizministeriums in Berlin

  • Während des Fachgesprächs bei der Deutschen Richterakademie in Wustrau

    Während des Fachgesprächs bei der Deutschen Richterakademie in Wustrau

  • Der Direktor der Deutschen Richterakademie, Dr. Stefan Tratz, (links) und der kosovarische Staatssekretär Eset Rama

    Der Direktor der Deutschen Richterakademie, Dr. Stefan Tratz, (links) und der kosovarische Staatssekretär Eset Rama

  • Gruppenbild vom Besuch in Wustrau

    Gruppenbild vom Besuch in Wustrau

Vom 30. November bis 4. Dezember 2015 weilte eine fünfköpfige Delegation des kosovarischen Justizministeriums für einen Arbeitsbesuch in der Bundeshauptstadt. Angeführt wurde der hochrangige Besuch von Staatssekretär Eset Rama.

Auf dem Programm stand u.a. ein ganztägiger Besuch beim Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz. Im BMJV wurden intensive Fachgespräche über die Implementierung des Deutsch-Kosovarischen Rechtshilfeabkommens geführt, das im Juni dieses Jahres unterzeichnet worden war. Themen der Gespräche waren die Bekämpfung von Korruption im Rahmen der internationalen Zusammenarbeit in Strafsachen, das Gesetzgebungsverfahren und das Verfassen von Gesetzestexten.

Weitere Höhepunkte des Aufenthalts in Deutschland waren ein Fachgespräch mit Mitgliedern der Deutsch-Südosteuropäischen Parlamentariergruppe des Deutschen Bundestages sowie ein Besuch der Deutschen Richterakademie in Wustrau. Hier führte deren Direktor, Dr. Stefan Tratz, durch das Programm, das sich um den Aufbau, die Organisation und die Arbeitsweise der Deutschen Richterakademie drehte.

Der einwöchige Arbeitsbesuch fand im Rahmen der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit zwischen der IRZ und der Republik Kosovo statt und wurde mit Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes finanziert.

Kosovarisch-Deutsches Seminar zur Korruptionsbekämpfung

  • Helmut Leithäuser, Landgericht Wuppertal; Dr. Matthias Hartwig, Max-Planck-Institut; Hasan Petreni, kosovarische Anti-Korruptionsagentur; Shqipdon Fazliu, kosovarische Generalstaatsanwaltschaft  (v.l.n.r.)

    Helmut Leithäuser, Landgericht Wuppertal; Dr. Matthias Hartwig, Max-Planck-Institut; Hasan Petreni, kosovarische Anti-Korruptionsagentur; Shqipdon Fazliu, kosovarische Generalstaatsanwaltschaft (v.l.n.r.)

  • Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Seminars

    Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Seminars

  • Während des Seminars

    Während des Seminars

Am 26. und 27. November 2015 fand auf Einladung der IRZ erstmalig ein Seminar zum Thema „Bekämpfung der Korruption" in Pristina statt. Der Abbau von Korruption ist eine der Bedingungen der EU dafür, dass Kosovo Beitrittskandidat werden kann.

Für das bilaterale Seminar konnten auf deutscher Seite Dr. Matthias Hartwig vom Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht in Heidelberg sowie Helmut Leithäuser, Vorsitzender Richter am Landgericht Wuppertal, gewonnen werden. Auf kosovarischer Seite hatten sich der Direktor der Anti-Korruptions-Agentur, Hasan Petreni, und der Koordinator für Korruptionsbekämpfung bei der Generalstaatsanwaltschaft, Shqipdon Fazliu, bereit erklärt, Aktuelles aus kosovarischer Sicht zum Seminar beizutragen.

Den Anfang machte Dr. Hartwig mit einem Impulsvortrag mit einführenden Hinweisen dazu, wie Korruption in Staat, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft überhaupt entstehen kann. Helmut Leithäuser ergänzte diesen Vortrag mit einem anschaulichen Bericht aus dem Berufsalltag eines Vorsitzenden Richters einer Großen Wirtschaftsstrafkammer.

Im Verlauf des Seminars entzündete sich eine lebhafte Diskussion an der Frage, ob die vorhandenen Gesetze im Kosovo zur Bekämpfung der Korruption tatsächlich ausreichend sind, wenn doch Kosovo derzeit noch auf dem Korruptionsindex von Transparency International auf Platz 110 rangiert. Als Ergebnis dieser Veranstaltung konnte festgestellt werden, dass Kosovo gesetzliche Grundlagen geschaffen hat, um der Korruption im eigenen Land entgegenzuwirken. Offen blieb jedoch, ob die bestehenden Gesetze ausreichend sind und die praktische Umsetzung stringent erfolgt.

An dem Seminar, das mit Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes finanziert werden konnte, nahmen überwiegend Richterinnen und Richter des Obersten Gerichts, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Verfassungsgerichts und des Obersten Gerichts sowie Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des kosovarischen Justizministeriums teil.