Kosovar Minister of Justice visits Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection

 Der kosovarische Justizminister Hajredin Kuci und Bundesjustizminister Heiko Maas (rechts)Der kosovarische Justizminister Hajredin Kuci und Bundesjustizminister Heiko Maas (rechts)The Kosovar Minister of Justice, Mr Hajredin Kuci, and the Federal Minister of Justice, Mr Heiko Maas (on the right)

On 29 and 30 June 2015 the Kosovar Minister of Justice, Mr Hajredin Kuci, was invited by the IRZ to visit the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection in Berlin. He was received by the Federal Minister of Justice, Mr Heiko Maas.

This visit was preceded by a meeting with the Parliamentary State Secretary Mr Christian Lange which dealt with the future cooperation between the two ministries. In addition an agreement was signed about judicial cooperation in criminal matters.

Minister Kuci was accompanied by two advisors, the Head of the Minister's Office as well as the Kosovar ambassador and his staff member.

Workshop for Kosovar judges of the Constitutional Court and the Supreme Court in Budva / Montenegro

  • Dr. Matthias Hartwig; Prof. Dr. Ulrich Karpen; Prof. Dr. Enver Hasani, President of the Constitutional Court; Prof. Dr. Ivan Cukalovic, Vice-President of the Constitutional Court (from left to right)

    Dr. Matthias Hartwig; Prof. Dr. Ulrich Karpen; Prof. Dr. Enver Hasani, President of the Constitutional Court; Prof. Dr. Ivan Cukalovic, Vice-President of the Constitutional Court (from left to right)

  • Scientific staff members of the Constitutional Court

    Scientific staff members of the Constitutional Court

  • Participants of the workshop

    Participants of the workshop

  • Dr. Matthias Hartwig, MPI Heidelberg; Elke Wendland, IRZ; Prof. Dr. Ulrich Karpen, University Hamburg

    Dr. Matthias Hartwig, MPI Heidelberg; Elke Wendland, IRZ; Prof. Dr. Ulrich Karpen, University Hamburg

The IRZ invited members of the Constitutional Court and the Supreme Court of the Republic of Kosovo to a workshop in Budva/Montenegro from 20 to 23 April, dealing with the following topics:

  • How to encourage referrals to the Constitutional Court by the Supreme Court and other regular courts of the Republic of Kosovo
  • How to increase the awareness of the Supreme Court and other regular courts to file referrals with the Constitutional Court

The workshop in Budva dealt in-depth with similar events the IRZ had successfully carried out in Pristina/Kosovo, Thessaloniki/Greece and Mavrovo/Macedonia in previous years.

The event was very well attended with 36 participants, among them the President and the Vice-President of the Constitutional Court as well as the President and the former President of the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court was represented almost completely with eleven judges. Five out of seven judges of the Constitutional Court followed the invitation of the IRZ.

The two-day event focused on Article 113 (8) of the Constitution of the Republic of Kosovo. This Article is the core article regarding referrals by the regular courts and the Supreme Court if they are uncertain whether or not a decision is compatible with the Constitution. The Constitutional Court regrets that both the Supreme Court and the regular courts have made very little use of this provision since the Constitution of the Republic of Kosovo came into effect in June 2008. From the Constitutional Court's point of view the number of motions filed or referrals of procedures in accordance with this referral provision has fallen far short of expectations.

Professor Ulrich Karpen of the Law Faculty of the University of Hamburg opened the workshop with a comprehensive keynote about the issue of referrals of judgements by the regular courts and the Supreme Court to the Constitutional Court pursuant to Article 113 (8) of the Kosovar Constitution. The following discussions with experts and among the members of the courts were very lively and enriching and productive for both sides.

In his introductory keynote Dr. Matthias Hartwig from the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law in Heidelberg dealt with the problem or the temptation of overextending constitutional decisions. Another issue addressed at this event was the compatibility of Kosovar law and human rights. In this context, comparisons with the decisions of the Federal Constitutional Court were made.

As the year before, the discussions were led at a high level. Disagreements between the two institutions were addressed openly. Particularly noteworthy in this context is the strong commitment of the Constitutional Court. The Court members contributed elaborate and superbly presented cases from their own practical work, which complemented the experts' presentations excellently.

Workshop about Judgements of the Constitutional Court and their Enforcement

The IRZ invited members of the Constitutional Court and the Supreme Court of the Republic of Kosovo to a workshop in Mavrovo/Macedonia from 10 to 13 November 2014. It was the third conference of this kind, following previous events in Pristina and Thessaloniki. The first two workshops had dealt with a review of the main types of proceedings before the Constitutional Court – disputes between constitutional organs, judicial referrals, above all constitutional complaints against court rulings (primarily of the Supreme Court) and how decisions are made in both Courts - whereas this event focussed on topical questions of judgements of the Constitutional Court, ensuring their enforcement and on the enforcement itself.

The workshop in Mavrovo was well-attended with approx. 30 participants, 5 of them judges at the Constitutional Court and 12 judges at the Supreme Court. The discussions with the experts and between the members of the Courts were lively and enriching for both sides. Professor Dr Ulrich Karpen from the Law Faculty of the University of Hamburg gave an introductory presentation highlighting preliminary injunctions and final judgements with regard to their importance for the procedure between the Constitutional Court and the Supreme Court. The discussion focussed on two issues: The Constitutional Court decides on constitutional issues but not on the facts of a case. As in all countries with a constitutional jurisdiction, it is unclear in some individual cases what are the facts and what are legal issues. This also applies to Kosovo. These questions of delineation were discussed on the basis of individual cases well-known to the judges of both Courts. The second focus of the discussion was on problems related to referral. If the Constitutional Court considers a judgement of the Supreme Court as not being conform with the Constitution, it will declare the decision as invalid – as the constitutional text puts it – and remit the case to a court of ordinary jurisdiction. It is left to the discretion of the Constitutional Court to state which court is to continue proceedings or reopen the case: the Regional Court, the Court of Appeal or the Supreme Court. Explicit provisions do not exist. The discussion between the two Courts was fundamental and inspiring for both sides.

Dr Matthias Hartwig of the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law in Heidelberg gave an introduction into the relations between the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg and the national courts. Kosovo is not a member of the Council of Europe. Nevertheless, it is laid down in the Constitution that ECtHR judgements are directly applicable in Kosovo and prevail over the laws of Kosovo in cases of doubt, i.e. they have to be included in decisions at a constitutional level. This is a delicate topic, not only for Kosovo, but also for the Federal Constitutional Court.

All in all, the discussion was held at a high level marked by a strong awareness of the problems. The differences of opinion between the judges of the Constitutional Court and the Supreme Court were openly discussed and the judicial staff of the Constitutional Court showed strong commitment. It is a remarkable circumstance that all employees of the younger generation spent some time abroad during their studies or even graduated in another country. Accordingly, they are very proficient in English. The young generation is educated at a transnational, in some cases even at a global level, and is therefore also internationally minded.

It was discussed in informal talks at the conference, whether the cooperation of the IRZ with the Constitutional Court was worth being continued after three workshops, which in Professor Dr Karpen's opinion were successful, open-minded and targeted. It has been found that it is the seminars implemented by the IRZ which enable an open-minded dialogue between the two courts marked by a spirit of consensus and tolerance. The Constitutional Court is a young institution which has been governing the constitutional life in Kosovo since 2008. Before this new start, the Supreme Court used to be the highest judicial instance of the country since the Yugoslav era. It goes without saying that it takes a while to get used to a new constitutional situation in which the Constitutional Court may in some parts be perceived as a new "superior". The workshops of the IRZ are currently the only forum in which these issues can be openly discussed.

Workshop für kosovarische Richterinnen und Richter des Verfassungsgerichts und des Obersten Gerichts in Budva/ Montenegro

  • Dr. Matthias Hartwig; Prof. Dr. Ulrich Karpen; Prof. Dr. Enver Hasani, Präsident des Verfassungsgerichts; Prof. Dr. Ivan Cukalovic, Vizepräsident des Verfassungsgerichts (v.l.n.r.)

    Dr. Matthias Hartwig; Prof. Dr. Ulrich Karpen; Prof. Dr. Enver Hasani, Präsident des Verfassungsgerichts; Prof. Dr. Ivan Cukalovic, Vizepräsident des Verfassungsgerichts (v.l.n.r.)

  • Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Mitarbeiter des Verfassungsgerichts

    Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Mitarbeiter des Verfassungsgerichts

  • Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Workshops

    Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Workshops

  • Dr. Matthias Hartwig, MPI Heidelberg; Elke Wendland, IRZ; Prof. Dr. Ulrich Karpen, Universität Hamburg (v.l.n.r.)

    Dr. Matthias Hartwig, MPI Heidelberg; Elke Wendland, IRZ; Prof. Dr. Ulrich Karpen, Universität Hamburg (v.l.n.r.)

Auf Einladung der IRZ fand vom 20. bis 23. April 2015 ein Workshop mit Mitgliedern des Verfassungsgerichts und des Obersten Gerichts der Republik Kosovo in Budva/Montenegro statt. Themen waren:

  • How to encourage referrals to the Constitutional Court by the Supreme Court and other regular courts of the Republic of Kosovo
  • How to increase the awareness of the Supreme Court and other regular courts to file referrals with the Constitutional Court

Der Workshop in Budva vertiefte die thematisch ähnlich gelagerten Veranstaltungen, die die IRZ in den Vorjahren in Pristina/ Kosovo, Thessaloniki/ Griechenland und Mavrovo/ Mazedonien erfolgreich durchgeführt hatte. Mit 36 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern war die Veranstaltung außerordentlich gut besucht. Mit dabei waren der Präsident und der Vizepräsident des Verfassungsgerichts sowie der Präsident und der ehemalige Präsident des Obersten Gerichts. Das Oberste Gericht war mit elf Richterinnen und Richtern nahezu vollständig vertreten. Beim Verfassungsgericht folgten fünf der sieben Richterinnen und Richter der Einladung der IRZ.

Inhaltlicher Schwerpunkt dieser zweitägigen Veranstaltung bildete Artikel 113 (8) der Verfassung der Republik Kosovo. Dieser Artikel ist Dreh- und Angelpunkt für Vorlagen der ordentlichen Gerichte und des Obersten Gerichts, wenn nicht eindeutig feststeht, ob eine Entscheidung auch verfassungskonform ist. Das Verfassungsgericht beklagt, dass seit Inkrafttreten der Verfassung der Republik Kosovo im Juni 2008 sowohl das Oberste Gericht als auch die ordentlichen Gerichte nur sehr spärlich von dieser Vorschrift Gebrauch gemacht haben. Aus Sicht des Verfassungsgerichtes ist die Anzahl der Vorlagen bzw. Abgabe der Verfahren gemäß dieser Abgabevorschrift weit hinter den Erwartungen geblieben.

Professor Ulrich Karpen von der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Hamburg hielt zum Auftakt des Workshops ein ausführliches Impulsreferat über die Problematik von Verweisungen von Urteilen der ordentlichen Gerichte und des Obersten Gerichts an das Verfassungsgericht gemäß Artikel 113 (8) der kosovarischen Verfassung. Die im Anschluss daran geführten Diskussionen mit den Experten und zwischen den Mitgliedern der Gerichte waren lebhaft und für beide Seiten bereichernd und konstruktiv.

Dr. Matthias Hartwig vom Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht in Heidelberg behandelte in seinem Eingangsreferat die Problematik bzw. die Versuchung einer Überdehnung von verfassungsrechtlichen Entscheidungen. Thematisiert wurde auch das Zusammenspiel von kosovarischem Recht mit den Menschenrechten. In diesem Zusammenhang wurden vergleichende Beobachtungen zu Entscheidungen des Bundesverfassungsgerichts ausgeführt.

Wie auch im vergangenen Jahr fanden die Diskussionen auf hohem Niveau statt. Meinungsverschiedenheiten zwischen den beiden Institutionen wurden offen angesprochen. Hervorzuheben ist an dieser Stelle das starke Engagement des Verfassungsgerichts. Sein Stab steuerte sorgfältig ausgearbeitete und hervorragend präsentierte Fälle aus der eigenen Praxis bei, die die Referate der Experten hervorragend ergänzten.

Workshop zu Urteilssprüchen des Verfassungsgerichts und ihrer Durchführung

Gruppenbild des Workshops

Gruppenbild des Workshops

Vom 10. bis 13. November 2014 fand auf Einladung der IRZ ein Workshop mit Mitgliedern des Verfassungsgerichts und des Obersten Gerichts der Republik Kosovo in Mavrovo/Mazedonien statt. Es war die dritte Tagung dieser Art, nach Vorgängerveranstaltungen in Pristina und Thessaloniki. Ging es bei den ersten beiden Workshops um eine Untersuchung der wichtigsten Verfahrensarten vor dem Verfassungsgericht – Organstreit, Richtervorlage, vor allem Verfassungsbeschwerde gegen Gerichtsentscheidungen (in erster Linie des Obersten Gerichts) und um die Entscheidungsverfahren in beiden Gerichten –, so standen diesmal aktuelle Fragen der Urteilssprüche des Verfassungsgerichts, der Sicherung ihrer Durchführung und der Durchführung selbst im Mittelpunkt.

Der Workshop in Mavrovo war mit ca. 30 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern, davon 5 Richterinnen und Richtern des Verfassungsgerichts und 12 Richterinnen und Richtern des Obersten Gerichts, gut besucht. Die Diskussionen mit den Experten und zwischen den Mitgliedern der Gerichte waren lebhaft und für beide Seiten bereichernd. In einem einführenden Vortrag von Professor Dr. Ulrich Karpen, Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität Hamburg, wurden vor allem einstweilige Verfügungen und Endurteile in ihrer Bedeutung für das Verfahren zwischen dem Verfassungsgericht und dem Obersten Gericht dargestellt. Es gab zwei Schwerpunkte der Diskussion: Das Verfassungsgericht entscheidet über Verfassungsfragen, nicht aber über Tatsachen. Wie in allen Ländern, die eine Verfassungsgerichtsbarkeit haben, ist in einzelnen Fällen unklar, was facts und was legal issues sind. So auch im Kosovo. Anhand einzelner Fälle, die den Richterinnen und Richtern beider Gerichte wohl präsent sind, wurden diese Abgrenzungsfragen erörtert. Den zweiten Schwerpunkt der Diskussion bildeten Verweisungsprobleme. Wenn das Verfassungsgericht ein Urteil des Obersten Gerichts für nicht verfassungskonform hält, erklärt es die Entscheidung für invalid – wie der Verfassungstext sagt – und verweist die Sache an ein Gericht der ordentlichen Gerichtsbarkeit zurück. Das Verfassungsgericht hat wohl eine Entscheidungsfreiheit zu sagen, welches Gericht das Verfahren fortführen oder neu aufrollen soll: Landgericht, Berufungsgericht oder Oberstes Gericht. Darüber gibt es keine expliziten Vorschriften. Die Diskussion zwischen den beiden Gerichten war grundlegend und fruchtbar für beide Seiten.

Dr. Matthias Hartwig vom Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht in Heidelberg führte in die Verhältnisse zwischen dem Europäischen Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte in Straßburg und nationalen Gerichten ein. Kosovo ist nicht Mitglied des Europarates. Gleichwohl befindet die Verfassung, dass Urteile des EGMR im Kosovo direkt anwendbar sind und im Zweifel Vorrang vor Gesetzen des Kosovo haben, also auf der Ebene der Verfassung in Entscheidungen einfließen müssen. Ein schwieriges Thema, nicht nur für Kosovo, sondern auch für das Bundesverfassungsgericht.

Insgesamt fand die Diskussion auf hohem Niveau statt, geprägt von Problembewusstsein, offen ausgetragenen Meinungsverschiedenheiten zwischen Richtern des Verfassungsgerichts und des Obersten Gerichts und starkem Engagement der juristischen Mitarbeiter des Stabes des Verfassungsgerichts. Bemerkenswert ist der Umstand, dass alle Mitarbeiter der jungen Generation in irgendeiner Weise im Ausland studiert haben oder graduiert worden sind. Das Sprachniveau im Englischen ist dementsprechend sehr hoch. Die junge Generation ist transnational und teils sogar global ausgebildet und orientiert.

Gewiss wurde am Rande der Tagung diskutiert, ob die Kooperation der IRZ mit dem Verfassungsgericht nach drei – wie der Berichterstatter Professor Dr. Karpen meint: erfolgreichen, offenen und weiterführenden – Workshops der Fortsetzung wert ist. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass es die von der IRZ ermöglichten Seminare sind, die einen offenen, auf Konsens und Toleranz ausgerichteten Dialog zwischen den beiden Gerichtshöfen ermöglichen. Das Verfassungsgericht ist eine junge Einrichtung, die das Verfassungsleben des Kosovo seit 2008 bestimmt. Vor diesem Neubeginn war das Oberste Gericht – seit jugoslawischen Zeiten – die höchste Gerichtsinstanz des Landes. Es versteht sich, dass die Eingewöhnung in eine Verfassungssituation, in der das Verfassungsgericht teilweise als neuer „Vorgesetzter" empfunden werden mag, einige Zeit erfordert. Die Workshops der IRZ sind derzeit das einzige Forum, in dem diese Fragen offen diskutiert werden können.