Kosovan-German exchange of ideas on young offenders’ institutions

  • Afrim Ibrahimi, Stefan Scherrer, Ardian Klaiqi (from left to right)

    Afrim Ibrahimi, Stefan Scherrer, Ardian Klaiqi (from left to right)

  • In the courtroom

    In the courtroom

  • In front of the local court in Göttingen

    In front of the local court in Göttingen

  • During the guided tour of the open prison for young offenders in Göttingen

    During the guided tour of the open prison for young offenders in Göttingen

  • Entry in the “Guest Book” for the open prison for young offenders

    Entry in the “Guest Book” for the open prison for young offenders

  • Melanie Hacker, Gabi Förstling, Christel Waßmann (from left to right)

    Melanie Hacker, Gabi Förstling, Christel Waßmann (from left to right)

  • Concluding photo

    Concluding photo

From 3 to 6 July 2017, a delegation of eight Kosovans attended expert talks on “Young offenders’ institutions” in Göttingen, Germany.

The prison director and three members of staff from the young offenders’ institution in Lipjan, a member of the prison system department at the Ministry of Justice and Child Protection Officers Afrim Ibrahimi and Ardian Klaiqi from UNICEF Kosovo accepted the invitation from the IRZ to visit Germany.

The main focus of this year’s visit was on an exchange of ideas between practitioners at institutions in Göttingen and Lipjan.

The short but very work-intensive programme began with a visit to the open prison for young offenders and to the juvenile detention facility in Göttingen. The guests were not only taken on informative guided tours of both establishments by prison directors Melanie Hacker and Christel Waßmann and prison officer Gabi Förstling, they were also provided with detailed explanations of the concept behind each establishment.

A young person from the open prison spontaneously offered to accompany visitors on their guided tour. This meant that the foreign guests were given a unique opportunity to find out about everyday life in an open prison from the point of view of a young offender. Siegfried Löprick, Chairman of “Jugendhilfe Göttingen e.V.” (a youth welfare association) and a former member of staff at the open prison for young offenders in Göttingen, accompanied the visitors and was available to answer their questions as an expert adviser.

On the second day, the visitors attended a young offender's trial by a local court judge, Stefan Scherrer, who, following the sentencing, talked in detail about the session and further proceedings. He had sentenced a young person to immediate detention for four weeks.

Kai Jans, a youth probation officer in Göttingen, outlined the fundamental duties of probation officers in juvenile criminal proceedings and Peter Kleinadel from the Verein Jugendhilfe Süd-Niedersachsen e.V., an association providing support for young people in the southern part of the Lower Saxony region, provided an interesting overview of social and educational services for young offenders outside the prison system.

The professional visit was funded by the German Foreign Office. The organisation of the visit and choice of topics for the programme took place in close coordination with UNICEF Kosovo and the Deputy Director of the local court of Göttingen, judge Stefan Scherrer. UNICEF Kosovo supports the Kosovan Ministry of Justice with advice on the reform of young offenders’ institutions. As a youth criminal judge, Stefan Scherrer provided the IRZ with a great deal of expert and practical support with the organisation of this visit.

A return visit by the experts in Göttingen to their Kosovan counterparts in Lipjan is planned for the autumn.

Seminar in Graçanica on media work carried out by public prosecutors’ offices

  • Group photo

    Group photo

  • Participants

    Participants

  • Speech given by a participant

    Speech given by a participant

  • During the seminar

    During the seminar

  • Continuing the discussions during the coffee break

    Continuing the discussions during the coffee break

  • Frank Hupfeld, Head of Section at the IRZ: Elke Wendland (IRZ); Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, speaker (from left to right)

    Frank Hupfeld, Head of Section at the IRZ: Elke Wendland (IRZ); Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, speaker (from left to right)

A seminar on “Press work / dealing with the media” was held in Graçanica on 17 and 18 May 2017 for members of the Kosovo Prosecutorial Council (KPC), the council of public prosecutors for the Republic of Kosovo. Founded in 2011, the KPC is a stand-alone, independent council charged with managing and supervising public prosecutors. Amongst other things, the KPC is responsible for recruiting and appointing public prosecutors.

An analysis of requirements carried out by the IRZ last year revealed that, throughout the entire prosecutorial system in Kosovo, only a few public prosecutors are involved with press and media work. There is also a lack of skilled and experienced press officers.

The objective of the two-day seminar, which was financed by funds from the German Federal Foreign Office, was to give participants a clearer insight into how public prosecutors should deal with the media and to focus specifically on the role of press officers.

The IRZ expert, Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, Presiding Judge at the Administrative Court of Mannheim, started his lecture with a descriptive presentation of the reasons behind and practical advantages of active, professional press work and went on to explain the fundamental structures of this work, using the German Federal Constitutional Court in Karlsruhe as an example. Afterwards, the requirements of media representatives at court were outlined and discussed. Topics such as “Interpreting case law in the press” and “Litigation-PR” were also the subjects of lively discussions.

Interactive seminar on European perspectives of Human Rights protection

  • Speaker Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann

    Speaker Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann

  • Participants

    Participants

  • Participants

    Participants

  • Participants

    Participants

  • Speech given by a participant

    Speech given by a participant

  • Prof. Dr. Bergmann during discussions

    Prof. Dr. Bergmann during discussions

  • Elke Wendland, IRZ, and Prof. Dr. Bergmann (on the right)

    Elke Wendland, IRZ, and Prof. Dr. Bergmann (on the right)

On 30 and 31 March 2017, Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, the Presiding Judge at the Higher Administrative Court of Baden-Wurttemberg, gave a lecture on “European Human Rights Protection under ECHR and CFREU” to expert employees of the Constitutional Court and Supreme Court of the Republic of Kosovo in Pristina.

The objective of the seminar, which was financed by funds from the German Federal Foreign Office, was to hold an interactive discussion with participants on European perspectives of Human Rights protection and to practise legal work based on selected cases and case solutions.

Professor Bergmann started the two-day seminar with a vivid presentation of the theory behind human rights and individual human rights categories. He then went on to present test schemes, which are used to solve cases involving the violation of rights to freedom and justice and of the fundamental right to equality and are basic tools for law professionals. Using interesting examples taken from the current case law of the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR), the participants worked intensively on the case solutions.

On the second day of the seminar, there was a short introduction to the protection of Human Rights at the European Court of Justice (ECJ) and the protection of fundamental rights in the European Union. The area of application of the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights (EU CFR) was also discussed. As on the previous day, the participants were once again called upon to work interactively on case solutions based on the current case law of the ECJ. A high level of expert discussions resulted from this work on individual cases.

Kosovarisch-deutscher Gedankenaustausch zum Jugendstrafvollzug

  • Afrim Ibrahimi, Stefan Scherrer, Ardian Klaiqi (v.l.n.r.)

    Afrim Ibrahimi, Stefan Scherrer, Ardian Klaiqi (v.l.n.r.)

  • Im Gerichtssaal

    Im Gerichtssaal

  • Vor dem Amtsgericht Göttingen

    Vor dem Amtsgericht Göttingen

  • Während der Führung auf dem Gelände des Offenen Jugendvollzugs Göttingen

    Während der Führung auf dem Gelände des Offenen Jugendvollzugs Göttingen

  • Eintrag ins "Gästebuch" der Offenen Jugendvollzugsanstalt

    Eintrag ins "Gästebuch" der Offenen Jugendvollzugsanstalt

  • Melanie Hacker, Gabi Förstling, Christel Waßmann (v.l.n.r.)

    Melanie Hacker, Gabi Förstling, Christel Waßmann (v.l.n.r.)

  • Abschlussfoto

    Abschlussfoto

Vom 3. bis 6. Juli 2017 hielt sich eine achtköpfige Delegation aus dem Kosovo zu Fachgesprächen zum Thema „Jugendstrafvollzug“ in Göttingen auf.

Der Einladung der IRZ nach Deutschland waren der Anstaltsleiter sowie drei Mitarbeiter der Jugendstrafvollzugsanstalt Lipjan, ein Angehöriger der Strafvollzugsabteilung des Justizministeriums sowie die Child Protection Officers Afrim Ibrahimi und Ardian Klaiqi von UNICEF Kosovo gefolgt.

Der Schwerpunkt des diesjährigen Besuches lag insbesondere auf dem Gedankenaustausch zwischen den Praktikern der Anstalten in Göttingen und Lipjan.

So begann denn auch das kurze, aber sehr arbeitsintensive Programm mit dem Besuch des Offenen Jugendvollzuges sowie der Jugendarrestanstalt Göttingen. Die Gäste erhielten von den Anstaltsleiterinnen Melanie Hacker und Christel Waßmann sowie der Vollzugsbeamtin Gabi Förstling nicht nur informative Führungen durch beide Häuser, sondern darüber hinaus noch eingehende Erläuterungen zu den jeweiligen Anstaltskonzepten.

Ein Jugendlicher aus dem Offenen Vollzug hatte sich spontan bereit erklärt, die Besucher auf ihrem Rundgang zu begleiten. Die auswärtigen Gäste bekamen auf diese Weise die einmalige Möglichkeit, den Alltag im Offenen Vollzug aus der Sicht eines jugendlichen Straftäters kennenzulernen. Siegfried Löprick, Vorsitzender des Vereins „Jugendhilfe Göttingen e.V.“ und ehemaliger Mitarbeiter des Offenen Jugendvollzuges Göttingen begleitete die Besucher und stand als fachlicher Berater für Fragen zur Verfügung.

Am zweiten Tag wohnten die Besucher einer Jugendstrafverhandlung von RiAG Stefan Scherrer bei, der nach der Urteilsverkündung ausführlich auf die Sitzung und das weitere Procedere einging. Er hatte eine Jugendliche zu einem sofortigen vierwöchigen Arrest verurteilt.

Kai Jans, Jugendbewährungshelfer aus Göttingen, stellte u.a. die Aufgaben der Bewährungshilfe im Jugendstrafverfahren in ihren Grundzügen vor, und Peter Kleinadel vom Verein Jugendhilfe Süd Niedersachsen e.V. gab einen interessanten Überblick über die ambulanten sozialpädagogischen Angebote für straffällige Jugendliche.

Der Fachbesuch konnte mit Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes finanziert werden. Die Organisation und Themenauswahl des Programms waren in enger Abstimmung mit UNICEF Kosovo und dem stellvertretenden Direktor des Amtsgerichts Göttingen, RiAG Stefan Scherrer, erfolgt. UNICEF Kosovo steht dem kosovarischen Justizministerium bei der Reformierung des Jugendstrafvollzugs beratend zur Seite. Stefan Scherrer hat als Jugendstrafrichter die IRZ fachlich und praktisch bei der Realisierung dieses Besuchs vortrefflich unterstützt.

Für den Herbst ist ein Gegenbesuch der Göttinger bei ihren kosovarischen Kolleginnen und Kollegen in Lipjan geplant.

Seminar zur Medienarbeit von Staatsanwaltschaften in Graçanica

  • Gruppenbild

    Gruppenbild

  • Teilnehmerin und Teilnehmer

    Teilnehmerin und Teilnehmer

  • Redebeitrag eines Teilnehmers

    Redebeitrag eines Teilnehmers

  • Während des Seminars

    Während des Seminars

  • Fortsetzung der Diskussionen während der Kaffeepause

    Fortsetzung der Diskussionen während der Kaffeepause

  • Frank Hupfeld, Projektbereichsleiter der IRZ: Elke Wendland (IRZ); Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, Referent (v.l.n.r.)

    Frank Hupfeld, Projektbereichsleiter der IRZ: Elke Wendland (IRZ); Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, Referent (v.l.n.r.)

In Graçanica fand am 17. und 18. Mai 2017 ein Seminar für Angehörige des Kosovo Prosecutorial Council (KPC), dem Rat der Staatsanwälte der Republik Kosovo, zum Thema „Pressearbeit / Umgang mit Medien“ statt.

Gegründet 2011, ist der KPC ein eigenständiges und unabhängiges Gremium, dem die Verwaltung und Aufsicht der Staatsanwaltschaften obliegt. U.a. ist der KPC für die Rekrutierung und Ernennung der Staatsanwältinnen und Staatsanwälte zuständig.

Eine von der IRZ im vergangenen Jahr in Auftrag gegebene Bedarfsanalyse hatte ergeben, dass im gesamten staatsanwaltschaftlichen System im Kosovo nur einige wenige Staatsanwältinnen und Staatsanwälte mit der Presse- bzw. Medienarbeit befasst sind. Zudem fehlt es an erfahrenen und routinierten Pressesprecherinnen und Pressesprechern.

Das zweitägige Seminar, das mit Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes finanziert werden konnte, hatte somit zum Ziel, den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern den Umgang von Staatsanwaltschaften mit Medien näher zu bringen und konkret auf die Aufgaben der Pressesprecherin oder des Pressesprechers einzugehen.

Der IRZ-Experte, Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, Vorsitzender Richter am Verwaltungsgerichtshof Mannheim, begann seinen Vortrag mit einer anschaulichen Darstellung der Gründe und praktischen Vorteile, die für eine aktive professionelle Pressearbeit sprechen, um anschließend die Grundstrukturen dieser Arbeit am Beispiel des Bundesverfassungsgerichts in Karlsruhe zu erläutern. Als Nächstes wurden die Anforderungen an Medienvertreter bei Gericht skizziert und besprochen. Darüber hinaus wurde zu Themen wie „Die Interpretation der Rechtsprechung in der Presse“ und „Litigation-PR“ rege diskutiert.

Interaktives Seminar zur Europäischen Dogmatik des Menschenrechtsschutzes

  • Referent Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann

    Referent Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann

  • Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

    Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

  • Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

    Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

  • Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

    Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

  • Redebeitrag eines Teilnehmers

    Redebeitrag eines Teilnehmers

  • Prof. Dr. Bergmann während der Diskussion

    Prof. Dr. Bergmann während der Diskussion

  • Elke Wendland, IRZ, und Prof. Dr. Bergmann (rechts)

    Elke Wendland, IRZ, und Prof. Dr. Bergmann (rechts)

Am 30. und 31. März 2017 referierte Professor Dr. Jan Bergmann, Vorsitzender Richter am Verwaltungsgerichtshof Baden-Württemberg, in Pristina vor wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern des Verfassungsgerichts und des Obersten Gerichts der Republik Kosovo zum Thema „The European Human Rights Protection under ECHR and CFREU“.

Das Seminar, das aus Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes finanziert werden konnte, hatte zum Ziel, mit den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern interaktiv die Europäische Dogmatik des Menschenrechtsschutzes zu erörtern und das juristische Arbeiten anhand von ausgesuchten Fällen bzw. Falllösungen zu trainieren.

Professor Bergmann begann das zweitägige Seminar mit einer anschaulichen Darstellung der Theorie der Menschenrechte sowie der einzelnen Menschenrechtskategorien. Im Anschluss daran stellte er Prüfschemata vor, die zur Falllösung bei Verletzung von Freiheits- und Justizgrundrechten und bei Verletzung von Gleichheitsgrundrechten herangezogen werden und zum juristischen Handwerkszeug gehören. Anhand interessanter Beispiele aus der aktuellen Rechtsprechung des Europäischen Gerichtshofs für Menschenrechte (EGMR) trainierten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer intensiv das Falllösen.

Am zweiten Seminartag gab es eine kurze Einführung zum Menschenrechtsschutz des Europäischen Gerichtshofs (EuGH) sowie zum Grundrechtsschutz in der Europäischen Union. Auch der Anwendungsbereich der Grundrechte-Charta (EU-GRCH) wurde thematisiert. Wie schon am Vortag waren auch dieses Mal die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aufgerufen, interaktiv das Falllösen basierend auf der aktuellen Rechtsprechung des EuGH zu trainieren. Aus dem Erarbeiten der einzelnen Fälle ergaben sich Diskussionen auf hohem, wissenschaftlichem Niveau.