Delegation representing the National School of Judges of Ukraine on a working visit to Trier, Cologne and Düsseldorf

The Ukrainian delegation in Trier with Stefan Tratz (in the centre of the photo), Director of the German Judicial Academy, and Wolfram Hertig from the IRZ (on the right)The Ukrainian delegation in Trier with Stefan Tratz (in the centre of the photo), Director of the German Judicial Academy, and Wolfram Hertig from the IRZ (on the right)

From 14 to 18 March, a delegation representing the National School of Judges of Ukraine visited various judicial training centres in Trier, Cologne and Düsseldorf. The delegation was led by the Rector of the School of Judges, Mykola Onishchuk, who was Minister of Justice for Ukraine from 2007 to 2009. Other participants in this working visit included Zenovii Kholodniuk, Director of the Ukrainian State Judicial Administration, and Valentyna Ustymenko, a member of the High Judicial Qualifications Commission.

The expert discussions were opened by the Director of the German Judicial Academy, Stefan Tratz, who welcomed the guests to Trier and presented the German model of judicial training. The delegation then went on to learn about the basics of German legal training at the University of Cologne. The welcome speech for the talks in the Ministry of Justice for the North Rhine-Westphalia region of Germany was delivered by Secretary of State, Karl-Heinz Krems, and Ulrich Becker, President of the regional Law Examinations Board. The focus of the talks at the Ministry of Justice was on the issue of selecting, recruiting and promoting judges and also on procedures for state law examinations.

The Ukrainian guests with delegation leader, Mykola Onishchuk (front centre) and the President of the regional Law Examinations Board, Ulrich Becker (front right), in front of the Ministry of Justice in Düsseldorf The Ukrainian guests with delegation leader, Mykola Onishchuk (front centre) and the President of the regional Law Examinations Board, Ulrich Becker (front right), in front of the Ministry of Justice in Düsseldorf

These subjects, as well as a particular focus on legal traineeships (the German "Referendariat"), were also on the programme during the subsequent intensive full-day expert discussions at the Higher Regional Court of Cologne. There, the representatives of the Ukrainian justice system were welcomed by the President of the Court, Peter Kamp, and Vice-President Christian Schmitz-Justen.

In view of the intense constitutional reforms that are currently underway in Ukraine, legal training and case law - including in connection with the issues of selecting and promoting judges - are a high priority. The working visit to Germany provided plenty of inspiration in this respect.

IRZ hold Expert Discussions on Municipal Law in Lviv

  • Wolfram Hertig, IRZ; Ulyana Tybinka, Head of the International Department at the Lviv City Council; Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, MdB [member of the German Bundestag]; Anatolij Zabarylo, Chairman of the Lviv City Council; Oleg Sorochkin, representative of the Lviv City Council (left to right)

    Wolfram Hertig, IRZ; Ulyana Tybinka, Head of the International Department at the Lviv City Council; Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, MdB [member of the German Bundestag]; Anatolij Zabarylo, Chairman of the Lviv City Council; Oleg Sorochkin, representative of the Lviv City Council (left to right)

  • Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt during his lecture to students from the IRZ supplementary course on German law

    Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt during his lecture to students from the IRZ supplementary course on German law

  • Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, Natalia Kvit from the National Ivan Franko University and Ruslan Sydorovych, representative of the Verchovna Rada (left to right)

    Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, Natalia Kvit from the National Ivan Franko University and Ruslan Sydorovych, representative of the Verchovna Rada (left to right)

Expert discussions on municipal law were held in Lviv from 7 to 9 December, led by IRZ expert Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, member of the German Bundestag (MdB) and member of the Committee on Legal Affairs and Consumer Protection of the German Bundestag. The event, which was organised by the IRZ, handled issues concerning municipal law and changes to the constitution regarding plans for decentralisation.

Following an opening lecture by Dr. Hoppenstedt on "The federal structure of the German Constitutional law: strengths and weaknesses", the first day of the event at the National Ivan Franko University continued with talks with the Dean of the law faculty and the Vice-President of the university, as well as with participants from the IRZ supplementary course on German law.

The second day was devoted to expert discussions with local parliamentarians. Dr. Hoppenstedt was a guest at a round table with community representatives from the city of Lviv and from various communities in the region. In connection with the current draft changes to the Ukrainian constitution involving decentralisation, the current organisation of municipal services and the issue of administrative services as a whole were discussed.

To look further into this issue, IRZ expert Dr. Hoppenstedt went on to meet the Chairman of the Lviv City Council, Anatolij Zabarylo, and the Deputy Chairman of the Regional Council of Lviv, Volodymyr Hirnjak, both of whom took up their posts after the recent municipal elections.

Colloquium for Ukrainian Administrative Court Judges in Koblenz

The Ukrainian delegation with their German hosts in KoblenzThe Ukrainian delegation with their German hosts in Koblenz

The 11th Colloquium on administrative procedure law for Ukrainian administrative court judges began in Koblenz on 7 December. The Ukrainian delegation was welcomed by the President of the Constitutional Court and of the Higher Administrative Court of the Federal State of Rhineland-Palatinate, Dr. Lars Brocker (back row, centre), and by the Director of the IRZ, Veronika Keller-Engels (front row, 2nd from left).

Attending this year's colloquium are a judge from the Supreme Administrative Court, the President of the Administrative Court of Ternopil and the President of the Administrative Courts of Tscherniwtsi and Tscherkassy. The main topics being discussed, besides process maxims and the issue of delimiting responsibilities, include judicial independence, allocation of responsibilities, Article 6 of the ECHR, the right of assembly as well as press and publicity work.

Since Ukraine may well introduce constitutional complaints as part of the changes to its constitution, experiences gained in Germany in this respect will also be discussed during the colloquium. The Ukrainian guests will therefore be able to gain a direct insight into the daily judicial work of their German colleagues.

In addition to these expert talks, to mark the occasion of Human Rights Day, there will be another meeting in Mainz with the Minster of Justice for Rhineland-Palatinate, Prof. Gerhard Robbers, and the President of the Landtag, Joachim Mertes.

Delegation der Nationalen Richterschule der Ukraine zum Arbeitsbesuch in Trier, Köln und Düsseldorf

Die ukrainische Delegation in Trier mit Stefan Tratz (Bildmitte), Direktor der Deutschen Richterakademie, und Wolfram Hertig, IRZDie ukrainische Delegation in Trier mit Stefan Tratz (Bildmitte), Direktor der Deutschen Richterakademie, und Wolfram Hertig (rechts), IRZ

Vom 14. bis 18. März besuchte eine Delegation der Nationalen Richterschule der der Ukraine verschiedene Institutionen der Richterausbildung in Trier, Köln und Düsseldorf. Die Delegation wurde geleitet vom Rektor der Richterschule, Mykola Onishchuk, der in den Jahren 2007 bis 2009 Justizminister der Ukraine war. Weitere Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Arbeitsbesuchs waren u.a. Zenovii Kholodniuk, Direktor der Staatlichen Gerichtsverwaltung der Ukraine, sowie Valentyna Ustymenko, Mitglied des Obersten Richterqualifikationsausschusses.

Zum Auftakt der Fachgespräche empfing der Direktor der Deutschen Richterakademie, Stefan Tratz, die Gäste in Trier und stellte das deutsche Modell der Richterfortbildung vor. An der Universität zu Köln informierte sich die Delegation anschließend über die Grundzüge der deutschen Juristenausbildung. Zur Eröffnung der Gespräche im Justizministerium des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen wurden die Gäste durch Staatssekretär Karl-Heinz Krems und Ulrich Becker, Präsident des Landesjustizprüfungsamtes, begrüßt. Im Mittelpunkt der Gespräche im Justizministerium standen Fragen der Auswahl, Einstellung und Beförderung von Richterinnen und Richtern sowie der Ablauf der Juristischen Staatsprüfungen.

Die ukrainischen Gäste mit dem Delegationsleiter Mykola Onishchuk (vorne Mitte) und dem Präsidenten des Landesjustizprüfungsamtes, Ulrich Becker (hinten rechts) vor dem Justizministerium in DüsseldorfDie ukrainischen Gäste mit dem Delegationsleiter Mykola Onishchuk (vorne Mitte) und dem Präsidenten des Landesjustizprüfungsamtes, Ulrich Becker (vorne rechts) vor dem Justizministerium in Düsseldorf

Diese Themen sowie insbesondere auch das juristische Referendariat standen schließlich auch bei einem intensiven ganztägigen fachlichen Austausch im Oberlandesgericht Köln auf dem Programm. Dort wurden die Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der ukrainischen Justiz vom Präsidenten des Gerichts, Peter Kamp, und dem Vizepräsidenten, Christian Schmitz-Justen, empfangen.

Im Rahmen der derzeitigen intensiven rechtsstaatlichen Reformen in der Ukraine kommt auch der Juristenausbildung sowie des Richterrecht s, dies auch im Zusammenhang mit Fragen der Richterauswahl und Richterbeförderung eine große Bedeutung zu. Der Arbeitsbesuch in Deutschland bot hierzu manche Anregungen.

Fachgespräche der IRZ zum Kommunalrecht in Lviv

  • Wolfram Hertig, IRZ; Ulyana Tybinka, Leiterin der internationalen Abteilung des Stadtrates Lviv; Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, MdB; Anatolij Zabarylo, Vorsitzender des Stadtrates von Lviv; Sorochkin, Abgeordneter des Stadtrates von Lviv (v.l.n.r.)

    Wolfram Hertig, IRZ; Ulyana Tybinka, Leiterin der internationalen Abteilung des Stadtrates Lviv; Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, MdB; Anatolij Zabarylo, Vorsitzender des Stadtrates von Lviv; Sorochkin, Abgeordneter des Stadtrates von Lviv (v.l.n.r.)

  • Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt bei seinem Vortrag vor Studierenden des IRZ-Begleitstudiums zum deutschen Recht

    Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt bei seinem Vortrag vor Studierenden des IRZ-Begleitstudiums zum deutschen Recht

  • Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, Natalia Kvit von der Nationalen Ivan-Franko-Universität und Ruslan Sydorovych, Abgeordneter der Werchowna Rada (v.l.n.r.)

    Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, Natalia Kvit von der Nationalen Ivan-Franko-Universität und Ruslan Sydorovych, Abgeordneter der Werchowna Rada (v.l.n.r.)

Vom 7. bis 9. Dezember führte der IRZ-Experte Dr. Hendrik Hoppenstedt, MdB und Mitglied des Ausschusses für Recht und Verbraucherschutz des Deutschen Bundestages, Fachgespräche zum Kommunalrecht im ukrainischen Lviv. Bei der von der IRZ organisierten Veranstaltung ging es um kommunalrechtliche Fragen und die mit der Verfassungsänderung beabsichtigte Dezentralisierung.

Dem Auftaktvortrag "Die bundesstaatliche Ordnung des Grundgesetzes: Stärken und Schwächen" an der Nationalen Ivan-Franko-Universität folgten am ersten Tag Gespräche mit dem Dekan der juristischen Fakultät und dem Prorektor der Universität sowie mit den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern des IRZ-Begleitstudiums zum deutschen Recht.

Der zweite Tag des Aufenthaltes galt dem fachlichen Austausch mit kommunalen Abgeordneten. Dr. Hoppenstedt war zudem Gast eines runden Tisches von Kommunalvertreterinnen und Kommunalvertretern sowohl der Stadt Lviv als auch verschiedener Gemeinden des Gebietes Lviv. Dabei wurden im Zusammenhang mit dem derzeitigen ukrainischen Verfassungsänderungsentwurf zur Dezentralisierung die aktuelle Einrichtung von Bürgerbüros und das Thema Verwaltungsdienstleistungen insgesamt erörtert.

Zur Vertiefung dieser Fragen traf sich IRZ-Experte Dr. Hoppenstedt im Anschluss noch mit dem Vorsitzenden des Stadtrates Lviv, Anatolij Zabarylo, und dem stellvertretenden Vorsitzenden des Rates des Gebietes Lviv, Volodymyr Hirnjak, die beide gerade nach den kürzlich durchgeführten Kommunalwahlen ihr Amt angetreten haben.

Kolloquium für ukrainische Verwaltungsrichterinnen und Verwaltungsrichter in Koblenz

Die ukrainische Delegation mit den deutschen Gastgebern in KoblenzDie ukrainische Delegation mit den deutschen Gastgebern in Koblenz

Am 7. Dezember hat das inzwischen 11. verwaltungsprozessrechtliche Kolloquium für ukrainische Verwaltungsrichterinnen und Verwaltungsrichter in Koblenz begonnen. Die ukrainische Delegation wurde vom Präsidenten des Verfassungsgerichtshof und des Oberverwaltungsgerichts des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz, Dr. Lars Brocker (hinten in der Mitte), und der Geschäftsführerin der IRZ, Veronika Keller-Engels (vorne, 2.v.l.), begrüßt.

Am diesjährigen Kolloquium nehmen eine Richterin des Obersten Verwaltungsgerichts, die Präsidentin des Verwaltungsgerichts Ternopil sowie die Präsidenten der Verwaltungsgerichte Tscherniwtsi und Tscherkassy teil. Themenschwerpunkte sind neben den Prozessmaximen und den Fragen der Zuständigkeitsabgrenzung u.a. die richterliche Unabhängigkeit, die Geschäftsverteilung, Art. 6 EMRK, das Versammlungsrecht und die Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

Da die Ukraine mit der Verfassungsänderung möglicherweise die Verfassungsbeschwerde einführen wird, werden im Kolloquium auch die in Deutschland mit diesem Instrument gesammelten Erfahrungen erörtert. Die ukrainischen Gäste können dabei unmittelbar auch Eindrücke aus der täglichen richterlichen Arbeit ihrer deutschen Kolleginnen und Kollegen sammeln.

Neben diesen Fachgesprächen gibt es im Rahmen des Tages der Menschenrechte noch ein Treffen mit dem rheinland-pfälzischen Justizminister Prof. Gerhard Robbers und dem Landtagspräsidenten Joachim Mertes in Mainz.