Christian Lange and Renate Künast attend expert discussions in Ukraine

  • Ihor Slidenko, judge at the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Dr Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ; Stanislaw Schewtschuk, judge at the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Oleksandr Kasminin, judge at the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Jaroslaw Wasylkewytsch, Head of the Secretariat for the Constitutional Court of Ukraine (back row, left to right). Dr. Christof Weil, German Ambassador in Ukraine;  Sergij Sas, acting President of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Renate Künast and Christian Lange (MP); Martin Graf, German Embassy (front row, left to right)

    Ihor Slidenko, judge at the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Dr Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ; Stanislaw Schewtschuk, judge at the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Oleksandr Kasminin, judge at the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Jaroslaw Wasylkewytsch, Head of the Secretariat for the Constitutional Court of Ukraine (back row, left to right). Dr. Christof Weil, German Ambassador in Ukraine; Sergij Sas, acting President of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Renate Künast and Christian Lange (MP); Martin Graf, German Embassy (front row, left to right)

  • At the University of Lviv: Dr Roksolana Lemyk, Deputy Dean of the Law Faculty; Dr Marjan Losynskij, Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University; Dr. Witalij Kosowytsch, acting Dean of the Law Faculty;  Renate Künast, MdB; Dr Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ; Dr Wolodymyr Sulym, Dean of the Faculty of Foreign Languages; Dr Oksana Kotsowska (from left to right)

    At the University of Lviv: Dr Roksolana Lemyk, Deputy Dean of the Law Faculty; Dr Marjan Losynskij, Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University; Dr. Witalij Kosowytsch, acting Dean of the Law Faculty; Renate Künast, MdB; Dr Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ; Dr Wolodymyr Sulym, Dean of the Faculty of Foreign Languages; Dr Oksana Kotsowska (from left to right)

On 17 and 18 September, a visit was made to Ukraine by Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister for Justice and Consumer Protection, Christian Lange (MP), Chairman of the Committee on Legal Affairs and Consumer Protection in the German Bundestag, Renate Künast (MP), and acting Director of the IRZ, Dr Stefan Hülshörster.

The programme for the visit included a meeting with Oxana Syroid, Vice-President of the Ukrainian Parliament (Werhowna Rada), and other Members of Parliament in Kiev. Talks were also held with the President of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine and of the Supreme Court of Ukraine and with representatives of some NGOs and international organisations.

The delegation learned about constitutional reform, in particular within the context of efforts towards decentralisation, about the difficulties involved in the fight against corruption, about legal reform and about the verification of all those working in public services, which is connected with all of the above points and is known in Ukraine as "lustration". Parliamentary State Secretary Mr Lange also highlighted during the talks the many years of intense efforts by the German government to accompany and support the legal reform process in Ukraine by the IRZ.

As part of the visit programme, Renate Künast opened the sixth German language "Introduction to German Law" course at the Ivan Franko National University of Lviv, which was initiated by the IRZ at the German Law centre it founded at the university. Talks were also held here with the Mayor of the City of Lviv, Andrij Sadovyi, founder of the "Samopomich" party.

The IRZ has been offering advice in Ukraine for several years now in all of these areas and these discussions also resulted in numerous connections being made to support the continuation and intensification of this cooperation.

Expert talks by Judges from the Ukrainian Constitutional Court at the IRZ

  • Dr Stefan Hülshörster; Dr Matthias Hartwig; Prof Dr Ihor Slidenko, judge at the Ukrainian Constitutional Court; Prof. Dr Viktor Shyshkin, judge at the Ukrainian Constitutional Court; Dr Dieter Hömig; Dirk Mirow; Prof. Dr Petro Stetsiuk, judge at the Ukrainian Constitutional Court; Gennadiy Ryschkow; Jürgen Thomas, retired Under-Secretary; and Sascha Oettler, IRZ (from left to right)

    Dr Stefan Hülshörster; Dr Matthias Hartwig; Prof Dr Ihor Slidenko, judge at the Ukrainian Constitutional Court; Prof. Dr Viktor Shyshkin, judge at the Ukrainian Constitutional Court; Dr Dieter Hömig; Dirk Mirow; Prof. Dr Petro Stetsiuk, judge at the Ukrainian Constitutional Court; Gennadiy Ryschkow; Jürgen Thomas, retired Under-Secretary; and Sascha Oettler, IRZ (from left to right)

  • Dr Matthias Hartwig, MPI (Max Planck Institute) for Comparative Public Law and International Law; Dr Dieter Hömig, retired judge at the Federal Constitutional Court; Gennadiy Ryschkow, IRZ Kiev (interpreter); Dr Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ Deputy Director; and Dirk Mirow, IRZ Director (from left to right)

    Dr Matthias Hartwig, MPI (Max Planck Institute) for Comparative Public Law and International Law; Dr Dieter Hömig, retired judge at the Federal Constitutional Court; Gennadiy Ryschkow, IRZ Kiev (interpreter); Dr Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ Deputy Director; and Dirk Mirow, IRZ Director (from left to right)

Between 3 and 7 May 2015 we welcomed three acting Constitutional Court Judges from Ukraine, Professor Viktor Shyshkin, Professor Petro Stetsiuk and Professor Ihor Slidenko, at the IRZ's premises for three days of intensive expert talks. The focus was on the doctrine of constitutional law and reviews of members of the civil service and the judiciary.

The Ukrainian guests discussed constitutional control during a state's democratic transformation, control density of procedures and the role of a Constitutional Court as an essential factor in the political field with their German counterparts, Dr Dieter Hömig, retired judge at the Federal Constitutional Court, and Dr Matthias Hartwig of the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. The talks focused on safeguarding judicial independence and steadfastness as well as on the question of how judicial self-confidence can be reinforced.

Another issue was the question of how to deal with the increasing influence of international law, and the impact of ECHR case law on the rulings of the Ukrainian Constitutional Court. This was of particular relevance, since it can be assumed that many of the imminent judicial reviews of so-called "lustration procedures" will have to be heard before the Ukrainian Constitutional Court and the ECHR. This is the reason why another focus of the talks was the question whether the reviews of an estimated 500,000 members of the civil service and the judiciary, many of whom have already been dismissed from public service, are lawful and proportionate. These reviews are currently being carried out in Ukraine on the basis of an "act on the consolidation of state power".

The guests from Ukraine held extensive and in-depth discussions with Under-Secretary Thomas Kunz from the Thuringia Ministry for Migration, Justice and Consumer Protection, who was himself in charge of matters relating to reviews of members of the judiciary in the former GDR, and Professor Thomas, retired Under-Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection, who was involved in negotiating the Unification Treaty, about the German experience after reunification with regard to reviews of judges and public prosecutors. The above-mentioned "act on the consolidation of state power" has already entered into effect, but it is currently being reviewed, following criticism from the European side. The IRZ also gave its opinion on this issue, as well as the Venice Commission. As a result, the proceedings regarding this act which were pending before the Ukrainian Constitutional Court have apparently now been suspended. To that extent the IRZ will not let up in its efforts to ensure that these reviews, which are definitely necessary in the Ukraine, are conducted according to rule-of-law standards.

Talks between Experts of the Supreme Administrative Court of Ukraine and the Federal Administrative Court

Group photo

Group photo

Based on its more than 20 years of cooperation, the IRZ is implementing a five-pillar programme to promote the rule of law in Ukraine, supported by the Federal Foreign Office. Despite the extremely difficult domestic and international political conditions, the implementation of the programme has already been started. The programme covers issues of the constitutional and judicial reform, public law and criminal law as well as the fight against corruption, above all in the judiciary. The working visit of the representatives of the Supreme Administrative Court of Ukraine, which took place from 25 to 28 November 2014, also continued a long-standing cooperation in establishing an administrative jurisdiction in Ukraine. Issues of protecting judicial independence and the necessary consolidation of an understanding of real independence by all parties played an important role during the expert talks, in particular against the background of the experiences gained in recent years and the current reform efforts.

In this context, the highly topical problem of the so-called lustration of civil service members and the judiciary as a whole were discussed. The judiciary will be reviewed as of early December 2014, including the Supreme Administrative Court, based on the requirements of the respective law. This review is certainly necessary in many cases but still has to be carried out in a reasonable way, bearing the principle of proportionality in mind. Another topical aspect was the effort of some forces in Ukraine to dissolve the administrative jurisdiction again and to integrate it into ordinary jurisdiction. An integration of commercial jurisdiction may be expedient; the dissolution of the administrative jurisdiction, however, which has been in existence for about a decade, would have to be considered as a drawback. Rather, more attention should be paid to developing the administrative courts further into an instrument capable of effectively and efficiently reviewing the activities of the state. For this purpose, they have to be truly independent and under no external influence at all, in order to contribute to a law-abiding conduct on the part of the executive.

The delegation was headed by the Court President Mr Netschytailo, who was only re-elected in June this year. They were received by the Vice-President of the Federal Administrative Court Dr Christ and the IRZ Deputy Director Dr Hülshörster. The meetings were also attended by the Presiding Judges Prof Dr Rubel and Mr Neumann as well as the Judges Prof Dr Kraft and Mr Steinkühler.

Christian Lange und Renate Künast zu Fachgesprächen in der Ukraine

  • Ihor Slidenko, Richter des VerfG der Ukraine; Dr. Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ; Stanislaw Schewtschuk, Richter des VerfG der Ukraine; Oleksandr Kasminin, Richter des VerfG der Ukrain; Jaroslaw Wasylkewytsch, Leiter des Sekretariats des VerfG der Ukraine (hinten v.l.n.r.). Dr. Christof Weil, Botschafter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in der Ukraine;  Sergij Sas, amtierender Präsident des VerfG der Ukraine; Renate Künast und Christian Lange (MdB); Martin Graf,  Deutsche Botschaft (vorne v.l.n.r.)

    Ihor Slidenko, Richter des VerfG der Ukraine; Dr. Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ; Stanislaw Schewtschuk, Richter des VerfG der Ukraine; Oleksandr Kasminin, Richter des VerfG der Ukrain; Jaroslaw Wasylkewytsch, Leiter des Sekretariats des VerfG der Ukraine (hinten v.l.n.r.). Dr. Christof Weil, Botschafter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in der Ukraine; Sergij Sas, amtierender Präsident des VerfG der Ukraine; Renate Künast und Christian Lange (MdB); Martin Graf, Deutsche Botschaft (vorne v.l.n.r.)

  • An der Universität Lwiw: Dr. Roksolana Lemyk, Stv. Dekanin der juristischen Fakultät; Dr. Marjan Losynskij, Pro-Rektor der Universität; Dr. Witalij Kosowytsch, amtierender Dekan der juristischen Fakultät;  Renate Künast, MdB; Dr. Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ; Dr. Wolodymyr Sulym, Dekan der Fakultät für Fremdsprachen; Dr. Oksana Kotsowska (v.l.n.r.)

    An der Universität Lwiw: Dr. Roksolana Lemyk, Stv. Dekanin der juristischen Fakultät; Dr. Marjan Losynskij, Pro-Rektor der Universität; Dr. Witalij Kosowytsch, amtierender Dekan der juristischen Fakultät; Renate Künast, MdB; Dr. Stefan Hülshörster, IRZ; Dr. Wolodymyr Sulym, Dekan der Fakultät für Fremdsprachen; Dr. Oksana Kotsowska (v.l.n.r.)

Am 17. und 18. September besuchten der Parlamentarische Staatssekretär beim Bundesminister der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz, Christian Lange (MdB), die Vorsitzende des Ausschusses für Recht und Verbraucherschutz des Deutschen Bundestages, Renate Künast (MdB), und der kommissarische Geschäftsführer der IRZ, Dr. Stefan Hülshörster, die Ukraine.

Auf dem Programm stand in Kiew ein Treffen mit Oxana Syroid, der Vizepräsidentin des ukrainischen Parlaments (Werhowna Rada), und weiteren Parlamentsabgeordneten. Außerdem gab es Gespräche mit dem Präsidenten des Verfassungsgerichts der Ukraine, des Obersten Gerichts der Ukraine und Vertreterinnen und Vertretern einiger NGO und internationaler Organisationen.

Die Delegation informierte sich über die Verfassungsreform insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund der Dezentralisierungsbemühungen, über die Schwierigkeiten der Korruptionsbekämpfung, über die Justizreform und die für mit all diesen Punkten in Verbindung stehende Überprüfung von Angehörigen des öffentlichen Dienstes, in der Ukraine auch als „Lustration" bezeichnet. Der Parlamentarische Staatssekretär Lange hob in diesen Gesprächen zudem die jahrelangen intensiven Bemühungen der Bundesregierung hervor, die rechtlichen Reformen in der Ukraine durch die IRZ zu begleiten und zu unterstützen.

Im Rahmen des Besuchsprogramms eröffnete Frau Künast daneben an der Nationalen Iwan-Franko-Universität in Lwiw den zwischenzeitlich sechsten Durchgang des deutschsprachigen „Begleitstudiengangs zur Einführung in das deutsche Recht", den die IRZ am von ihr gegründeten Zentrum für deutsches Recht ins Leben gerufen hat. Hier fand auch ein Gespräch mit dem Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Lwiw, Andrij Sadovyi, Gründer der Partei „Samopomich" statt.

In allen genannten Arbeitsbereichen ist die IRZ in der Ukraine seit Jahren beratend tätig, so dass sich auch in diesen Gesprächen zahlreiche Anknüpfungspunkte für eine Fortführung und Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit ergaben.

Verfassungsrichter der Ukraine zu Fachgesprächen bei der IRZ

  • Dr. Stefan Hülshörster; Dr. Matthias Hartwig; Prof. Dr. Ihor Slidenko, Verfassungsrichter Ukraine; Prof. Dr. Viktor Shyshkin, Verfassungsrichter Ukraine;  Dr. Dieter Hömig; Dirk Mirow; Prof. Dr. Petro Stetsiuk, Verfassungsrichter Ukraine; Gennadiy Ryschkow; Jürgen Thomas, Ministerialdirigent a.D.; Sascha Oettler, IRZ (v.l.n.r.)

    Dr. Stefan Hülshörster; Dr. Matthias Hartwig; Prof. Dr. Ihor Slidenko, Verfassungsrichter Ukraine; Prof. Dr. Viktor Shyshkin, Verfassungsrichter Ukraine; Dr. Dieter Hömig; Dirk Mirow; Prof. Dr. Petro Stetsiuk, Verfassungsrichter Ukraine; Gennadiy Ryschkow; Jürgen Thomas, Ministerialdirigent a.D.; Sascha Oettler, IRZ (v.l.n.r.)

  • Dr. Matthias Hartwig, MPI (Max-Planck-Institut) für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht; Dr. Dieter Hömig, Bundesverfassungsrichter a.D.; Gennadiy Ryschkow, IRZ-Kiew (Dolmetscher); Dr. Stefan Hülshörster, stellvertretender Geschäftsführer IRZ; Dirk Mirow, Geschäftsführer IRZ (v.l.n.r.)

    Dr. Matthias Hartwig, MPI (Max-Planck-Institut) für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht; Dr. Dieter Hömig, Bundesverfassungsrichter a.D.; Gennadiy Ryschkow, IRZ-Kiew (Dolmetscher); Dr. Stefan Hülshörster, stellvertretender Geschäftsführer IRZ; Dirk Mirow, Geschäftsführer IRZ (v.l.n.r.)

Vom 3. bis 7. Mai 2015 konnten wir die drei amtierenden Verfassungsrichter der Ukraine, Professor Viktor Shyshkin, Professor Petro Stetsiuk und Professor Ihor Slidenko, in den Räumlichkeiten der IRZ zu dreitägigen intensiven Fachgesprächen begrüßen. Themenschwerpunkte waren Verfassungsrechtsdogmatik und Überprüfung von Angehörigen des öffentlichen Dienstes und der Justiz.

Mit ihren deutschen Kollegen Dr. Dieter Hömig, Richter am Bundesverfassungsgericht a.D., und Dr. Matthias Hartwig vom MPI für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht sprachen die ukrainischen Gäste über die verfassungsrechtliche Kontrolle bei der demokratischen Transformation eines Staates, über die Kontrolldichte der Verfahren und die Rolle eines Verfassungsgerichts als wichtiger Faktor im politischen Raum. Insbesondere ging es um die Gewährleistung der richterlichen Unabhängigkeit und Standhaftigkeit sowie um die Frage, wie das richterliche Selbstvertrauen gestärkt werden kann.

Zudem wurde erneut der Umgang mit dem zunehmenden völkerrechtlichen Einfluss und der Wirkung der EGMR-Rechtsprechung auf die Rechtsprechung des Verfassungsgerichts der Ukraine erörtert. Dies war gerade auch deswegen von besonderer Bedeutung, weil anzunehmen ist, dass etliche der anstehenden gerichtlichen Überprüfungen der sogenannten „Lustrationsverfahren" vor dem ukrainischen Verfassungsgericht und dem EGMR zu verhandeln sein werden. Aus diesem Grunde war ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Gespräche die Frage der Rechtmäßigkeit und der Verhältnismäßigkeit der derzeit in der Ukraine auf der Grundlage eines „Gesetzes über die Bereinigung der Staatsmacht" durchgeführten Überprüfungen von voraussichtlich etwa 500.000 Angehörigen des öffentlichen Dienstes und der Justiz, von denen etliche bereits aus dem Staatsdienst entlassen wurden.

Mit Ministerialdirigent Thomas Kunz vom Thüringer Ministerium für Migration, Justiz und Verbraucherschutz, der seinerzeit selbst mit den Fragen der Überprüfung von Angehörigen der früheren DDR-Justiz befasst war, und Professor Thomas, Ministerialdirigent a.D. vom BMJV, der an den Verhandlungen des Einigungsvertrages beteiligt war, diskutierten die Gäste aus der Ukraine ausgiebig und detailliert über die deutschen Nachwendeerfahrungen hinsichtlich der Überprüfung von Richtern und Staatsanwälten. Das erwähnte „Gesetz über die Bereinigung der Staatsmacht" ist zwar bereits in Kraft getreten, wird aber nach Kritik von europäischer Seite, auch die IRZ hatte hierzu Stellung genommen, und von Seiten der Venedig-Kommission derzeit überarbeitet, sodass das bereits anhängige Verfahren vor dem Verfassungsgericht der Ukraine zu diesem Gesetz offenbar zunächst vertagt ist. Insofern wird die IRZ in ihren Bemühungen nicht nachlassen, dass diese in der Ukraine sicher notwendigen Überprüfungen nach rechtsstaatlichen Standards durchgeführt werden.

Oberstes Verwaltungsgericht der Ukraine zu Fachgesprächen im Bundesverwaltungsgericht

Gruppenbild der Delegation, links: Martin Steinkühler (Richter am BVerwG)

Gruppenbild der Delegation, links: Martin Steinkühler (Richter am BVerwG)

Mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes führt die IRZ aufbauend auf eine über 20jährige Zusammenarbeit ein Fünf-Säulen-Programm zur Förderung der Rechtsstaatlichkeit der Ukraine durch. Trotz äußerst schwieriger innen- wie außenpolitischer Rahmenbedingungen konnte mit der Umsetzung dieses Programms bereits begonnen werden, in dessen Rahmen Fragen der Verfassungs- und Justizreform, des öffentlichen Rechts und des Strafrechts sowie der Korruptionsbekämpfung vor allem in der Justiz behandelt werden. Der Arbeitsaufenthalt von Vertreterinnen und Vertretern des Obersten Verwaltungsgericht der Ukraine, der von 25. bis 28. November 2014 stattfand, setzte zudem eine viele Jahre währende Zusammenarbeit zur Schaffung einer Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit in der Ukraine fort. Gerade vor dem Hintergrund der in den letzten Jahren gemachten Erfahrungen und der aktuellen Reformbestrebungen spielten insbesondere Fragen der Gewährleistung der richterlichen Unabhängigkeit und der notwendigen Festigung eines allseitigen Verständnisses einer wirklichen Unabhängigkeit eine bedeutende Rolle in den Fachgesprächen.

In diesem Zusammenhang wurde die höchst aktuelle Problematik der sogenannten Lustration von Angehörigen des öffentlichen Dienstes und der gesamten Justiz erörtert. Hier wird es ab Anfang Dezember 2014 auch im Obersten Verwaltungsgericht zu Überprüfungen der Richterschaft unter den Voraussetzungen des entsprechenden Gesetzes kommen - eine Überprüfung, die insgesamt zwar vielfach sicherlich notwendig ist, die aber auch mit Augenmaß und unter Wahrung des Grundsatzes der Verhältnismäßigkeit durchgeführt werden muss. Ein weiterer aktueller Aspekt war die Bestrebung einiger Kräfte in der Ukraine, auch die Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit wieder aufzulösen und in die ordentliche Gerichtsbarkeit zu integrieren. Eine Integration der Wirtschaftsgerichtsbarkeit mag seinen Sinn haben; die Auflösung der seit etwa einem Jahrzehnt bestehenden Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit wäre aber als Rückschritt zu bewerten. Es sollte ein stärkeres Augenmerk darauf gerichtet werden, die Verwaltungsgerichte zu einem Instrument fortzuentwickeln, das in echter Unabhängigkeit und ohne jegliche Beeinflussung von außen staatliches Handeln effektiv und wirkungsvoll überprüfen kann, um so auch zu einem rechtstreuen Verhalten der Exekutive beizutragen.

Empfangen wurde die Delegation, die von dem erst im Juni dieses Jahres neugewählten Gerichtsvorsitzenden Netschytailo geleitet wurde, vom Vizepräsidenten des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts, Dr. Christ, und dem stellv. Geschäftsführer der IRZ Dr. Hülshörster. Daneben nahmen die Vorsitzenden Richter Prof. Dr. Rubel und Neumann sowie die Richter Prof. Dr. Kraft und Steinkühler an den Gesprächen teil.