Seminar of a delegation of the Ukrainian Ministry of Justice in Wustrau dealing with mediation in the context of the HCCA

  • Delegation and speakers together with Christiane Uckrow (at the top), Administration Manager of the German Judicial Academy in Wustrau

    Delegation and speakers together with Christiane Uckrow (at the top), Administration Manager of the German Judicial Academy in Wustrau

  • Expert talks about the HCCA. Birgit Mix, Federal Office of Justice; Sabine Brieger, Local Court Judge; Zoë Schlär, MiKK e. V.; Olga Zozulia, Head of Sub-Division at the Ministry of Justice of Ukraine (from right to left)

    Expert talks about the HCCA. Birgit Mix, Federal Office of Justice; Sabine Brieger, Local Court Judge; Zoë Schlär, MiKK e. V.; Olga Zozulia, Head of Sub-Division at the Ministry of Justice of Ukraine (from right to left)

The IRZ invited a delegation of the Ukrainian Ministry of Justice to a conference at the German Judicial Academy in Wustrau and in Berlin from 24 to 28 April 2017. The seminar dealt with mediation in the context of the Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction (HCCA).

The event was organised as part of the recently signed renewal of the cooperation agreement between the German Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection and the Ukrainian Ministry of Justice, which also includes the HCCA as one of the joint fields of activitiy.
The German speakers were Dr. Nicola Wenzel, Head of the Division of the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection in charge of the HCCA, and Tina Rozman from the same division, and Birgit Mix, German Federal Office of Justice as central authority, HCCA liaison judge and local court judge Sabine Brieger and Zoë Schlär, MiKK e.V. (International Mediation Centre for Family Conflicts and Child Abduction).

The conference, which included presentations, discussions and practical mediation exercises, was aimed at improving the handling of cases relating to the HCCA. The IRZ had already organised similar practice-related events on this issue in the past, which led to specific improvements in the handling of many cases. After the meeting in Wustrau, the delegation visited the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection for a follow-up of the working week and for discussing opportunities for further cooperation.

Conference on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine

  • Sviatoslav Piskun, Chairman of the Union of Lawyers of Ukraine; Veronika Keller-Engels, IRZ Director; Yurii Baulin, Chairman of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Stanislav Shevchuk, Judge of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Oleksandr Vodyannikov, Head of the Department for the Rule of Law of OSCE and OSCE project coordinator in Ukraine; Brigitte Bierlein, Vice-President of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Austria (left to right).

    Sviatoslav Piskun, Chairman of the Union of Lawyers of Ukraine; Veronika Keller-Engels, IRZ Director; Yurii Baulin, Chairman of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Stanislav Shevchuk, Judge of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Oleksandr Vodyannikov, Head of the Department for the Rule of Law of OSCE and OSCE project coordinator in Ukraine; Brigitte Bierlein, Vice-President of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Austria (left to right).

  • Alexandru Tanase, President of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Moldova; Yurii Baulin, Chairman of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Victor Kolisnyk, Judge of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Matthias Hartwig, Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law (left to right).

    Alexandru Tanase, President of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Moldova; Yurii Baulin, Chairman of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Victor Kolisnyk, Judge of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine; Matthias Hartwig, Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law (left to right).

  • Participants of the conference

    Participants of the conference

On 7 and 8 October the international conference “Constitutional Control and the Processes of Democratic Transformation in Modern Society“ took place in Kiev on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine. It was organised by the Constitutional Court of Ukraine in cooperation with the IRZ, the Venice Commission of the Council of Europe and the OSCE project office in Kiev.

A large number of presiding judges and judges from other constitutional courts, many of them from IRZ partner countries, participated in the conference. The conference focused in particular on the role of constitutional jurisdiction in sometimes extremely difficult reform situations. This received much attention, given the fact that in recent months and years the development of democracy and the rule of law had suffered setbacks in some states.

The expert exchange was characterised by an open and problem-oriented discussion. From the German side the former judge at the Federal Constitutional Court Dr. Dieter Hömig, Prof. Dr. Lutz Arnold from the University of Regensburg and Dr. Matthias Hartwig from the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law took part.

The Ukrainian speakers pointed out the model function of German constitutional law several times. The IRZ has been supporting Ukraine for many years not only in the reform of its constitutional law, but also in the drafting of a law on the Constitutional Court, which is currently being revised, and of rules of procedure. With the last amendment of the Ukrainian constitution the instrument of the constitutional complaint was introduced. The IRZ has been asked for advice in this context and is currently playing an important advisory role. The IRZ had several expert talks and has submitted some expert opinions, which are to be followed by more. Now a particular focus must be placed on implementing the constitutional complaint in court practice.

The opening speeches at the conference were given by:

  • Petro Poroshenko, President of Ukraine
  • Yurii Baulin, Chairman of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine,
  • Gianni Buquicchio, President of the Venice Commission of the Council of Europe
  • Veronika Keller-Engels, IRZ Director
  • Oleksandr Vodyannikov, representative of the Kiev OSCE Office and
  • Sviatoslav Piskun, former Public Prosecutor General and Chairman of the Union of Lawyers of Ukraine.

New law on enforcement proceedings in Ukraine: Delegation pay a working visit to Bonn

  • Group photo of the delegation

    Group photo of the delegation

  • The delegation being welcomed by the IRZ Management

    The delegation being welcomed by the IRZ Management

  • The delegation during the expert discussions

    The delegation during the expert discussions

  • The delegation during the expert discussions

    The delegation during the expert discussions

Within the context of the legal reforms of enforcement proceedings, which come into force in Ukraine on 5 October 2016, a working conference was held from 19 to 23 September 2016 at the IRZ offices, bringing together high-ranking representatives of the Ministry of Justice of Ukraine, including Deputy Minister of Justice Serhij Shkljar. The delegation was welcomed by IRZ Managing Director Veronika Keller-Engels.

The working conference focussed on the texts regulating the implementation of the new laws and on intense discussions between the Ukrainian delegation and the following German experts:

  • Ministerialrat Detlef Wasser from the German Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection (BMJV);
  • Jan Laskowski, a local court judge;
  • Hans-Otto Bartels, President of the Regional Court of Aurich and IRZ expert with many years of experience;
  • Helmut Janssen, Bailiff at the High Court of Wittmund.

Even though the German experts take a critical view of the partial privatisation of law enforcement in Ukraine, both sides see the reciprocal exchange of expertise as very fruitful.

The Verhovna Rada adopted two new laws on 2 June 2016, bringing about extensive changes to the law on enforcement proceedings. At the centre of these comprehensive changes is the introduction of a mixed model, which provides for private law enforcement officers as well as state law enforcement officers. By introducing these measures, it is hoped that there will be a significant increase in the efficiency and quality of law enforcement. The IRZ, working in cooperation with the BMJV, has been supporting the reforms in Ukrainian law enforcement for years.

The Ukrainian delegation was primarily interested in the procurement and availability of information about debtors. They were hoping to benefit from the experience of their German colleagues in setting up official registers, which have not been available in Ukraine until now, and in training and educating law enforcement officers. There were also some interesting discussions about the special legal status accorded to selected companies in law enforcement proceedings in Ukraine.

During a final talk between the Deputy Minister of Justice for Ukraine, Serhij Shkljar, and the Deputy Director of the IRZ, Dr. Stefan Hülshörster, both parties agreed that there continues to be a considerable need for support in the field of Ukrainian law enforcement. Together, they have already started to talk about definitive steps for the future of the partnership.

Delegation des ukrainischen Justizministeriums tagte zum Thema Mediation im Zusammenhang mit dem HKÜ in Wustrau

  • Delegation und Referentinnen zusammen mit Christiane Uckrow (oben), Verwaltungsleiterin der Deutschen Richterakademie in Wustrau

    Delegation und Referentinnen zusammen mit Christiane Uckrow (oben), Verwaltungsleiterin der Deutschen Richterakademie in Wustrau

  • Fachgespräche zum HKÜ. Birgit Mix, Bundesamt für Justiz; Richterin am Amtsgericht Sabine Brieger; Zoë Schlär, MiKK e.V.; Olga Zozulia, Unterabteilungsleiterin im Justizministerium der Ukraine (v.r.n.l.)

    Fachgespräche zum HKÜ. Birgit Mix, Bundesamt für Justiz; Richterin am Amtsgericht Sabine Brieger; Zoë Schlär, MiKK e.V.; Olga Zozulia, Unterabteilungsleiterin im Justizministerium der Ukraine (v.r.n.l.)

Eine Delegation des ukrainischen Justizministeriums tagte auf Einladung der IRZ in der Zeit vom 24. bis 28. April 2017 in der Deutschen Richterakademie in Wustrau und in Berlin. Bei der Arbeitstagung ging es um das Thema Mediation im Zusammenhang mit dem Haager Übereinkommen über die zivilrechtlichen Aspekte internationaler Kindesentführung (HKÜ). Die Veranstaltung wurde durchgeführt im Rahmen der kürzlich unterzeichneten erneuerten Kooperationsvereinbarung zwischen dem Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz und dem Justizministerium der Ukraine, in der auch das HKÜ als eines der gemeinsamen Arbeitsgebiete aufgeführt ist.

Referentinnen von deutscher Seite waren die für das HKÜ zuständige Referatsleiterin im BMJV, Dr. Nicola Wenzel, und Tina Rozman aus demselben Referat, sowie Birgit Mix, Bundesamt für Justiz als zentraler Behörde, HKÜ-Verbindungsrichterin RiAG Sabine Brieger und Zoë Schlär, MiKK e.V. (Internationales Mediationszentrum für Familienkonflikte und Kindesentführung).

Die mit Vorträgen, Diskussionen und praktischen Übungen zur Mediation gestaltete Tagung sollte zu einer Verbesserung der Fallabwicklung im Zusammenhang mit dem HKÜ beitragen. Ähnliche praxisbezogene IRZ-Tagungen zu diesem Thema hatten in der Vergangenheit schon mehrfach konkrete Verbesserungen der Fallabwicklung mit sich gebracht. Nach den Gesprächen in Wustrau besuchte die Delegation das BMJV, um eine Auswertung der Arbeitswoche vorzunehmen und Möglichkeiten der weiteren Zusammenarbeit zu besprechen.

Konferenz zum 20-jährigen Bestehen des Verfassungsgerichts der Ukraine

  • Swjatoslaw Piskun, Präsident des Juristenverbandes der Ukraine; Veronika Keller-Engels, Geschäftsführerin der IRZ; Jurij Baulin, Präsident des Verfassungsgerichts der Ukraine; Stanislaw Schewtschuk, Richter des Verfassungsgerichtes der Ukraine; Oleksandr Wodjannikow, Leiter der Abteilung für Rechtsstaatlichkeit der OSZE und Projektkoordinator Ukraine; Brigitte Bierlein, Vizepräsidentin am Verfassungsgerichtshof der Republik Österreich (v.l.n.r.)

    Swjatoslaw Piskun, Präsident des Juristenverbandes der Ukraine; Veronika Keller-Engels, Geschäftsführerin der IRZ; Jurij Baulin, Präsident des Verfassungsgerichts der Ukraine; Stanislaw Schewtschuk, Richter des Verfassungsgerichtes der Ukraine; Oleksandr Wodjannikow, Leiter der Abteilung für Rechtsstaatlichkeit der OSZE und Projektkoordinator Ukraine; Brigitte Bierlein, Vizepräsidentin am Verfassungsgerichtshof der Republik Österreich (v.l.n.r.)

  • Alexandru Tanase, Präsident des Verfassungsgerichts der Republik Moldau; Jurij Baulin, Präsident des Verfassungsgerichts der Ukraine; Wiktor Kolisnyk, Richter des Verfassungsgerichts der Ukraine; Matthias Hartwig, Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht (v.l.n.r.)

    Alexandru Tanase, Präsident des Verfassungsgerichts der Republik Moldau; Jurij Baulin, Präsident des Verfassungsgerichts der Ukraine; Wiktor Kolisnyk, Richter des Verfassungsgerichts der Ukraine; Matthias Hartwig, Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht (v.l.n.r.)

  • Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Konferenz

    Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Konferenz

Am 7. und 8. Oktober fand in Kiew aus Anlass des 20-jährigen Bestehens des ukrainischen Verfassungsgerichts eine internationale Konferenz zum Thema „Verfassungskontrolle und Prozesse der demokratischen Transformation in einer modernen Gesellschaft“ statt. Sie wurde vom ukrainischen Verfassungsgericht gemeinsam mit der IRZ, der Venedig-Kommission des Europarates und dem Kiewer Projektbüro der OSZE durchgeführt.

An der Veranstaltung nahmen zahlreiche Vorsitzende sowie Richterinnen und Richter anderer Verfassungsgerichte, davon etliche aus Partnerstaaten der IRZ, teil. Die Konferenz beleuchtete in besonderer Weise die Rolle der Verfassungsrechtsprechung in bisweilen überaus schwierigen Reformsituationen. Dies fand gerade vor dem Hintergrund große Beachtung, als in den letzten Monaten und Jahren in einigen Staaten durchaus rückläufige Entwicklungen von Demokratie und Rechtsstaat zu verzeichnen waren.

Der fachliche Austausch war geprägt von einer offenen und problemorientierten Diskussion, an der von deutscher Seite der Richter des Bundesverfassungsgerichts a.D. Dr. Dieter Hömig, Prof. Dr. Lutz Arnold von der Universität Regensburg und Dr. Matthias Hartwig vom Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht teilnahmen.

Mehrfach wurde gerade auch von ukrainischer Seite auf die Vorbildfunktion des deutschen Verfassungsrechts hingewiesen. Die IRZ begleitet die Ukraine seit vielen Jahren nicht nur bei der Reform des Verfassungsrechts, sondern auch bei der Ausarbeitung eines Gesetzes über das Verfassungsgericht, das sich aktuell auch wieder in Überarbeitung befindet, sowie einer Geschäftsordnung. Durch die letzte Änderung der Verfassung der Ukraine wurde das Instrument der Verfassungsbeschwerde eingeführt. Hier war und ist auch gegenwärtig verstärkt eine Beratung der IRZ erbeten. Die IRZ führte vor diesem Hintergrund bereits mehrere Fachgespräche und gab gutachterliche Stellungnahmen ab, denen weitere folgen sollen. Insbesondere gilt es nun, die Verfassungsbeschwerde in der Gerichtspraxis zu implementieren.

Die Eröffnungsvorträge der Konferenz hielten:

  • Petro Poroschenko, Präsident der Ukraine,
  • Juri Baulin, Präsident des ukrainischen Verfassungsgerichts,
  • Gianni Buquicchio, Präsident der Venedig-Kommission des Europarats,
  • Veronika Keller-Engels, Geschäftsführerin der IRZ,
  • Oleksandr Wodjannykow, Vertreter des Kiewer OSZE-Büros und
  • Svyatoslav Piskun, ehemaliger Generalstaatsanwalt und jetziger Präsident des ukrainischen Juristenverbands.

Neues Zwangsvollstreckungsrecht der Ukraine: Delegation zum Arbeitsbesuch in Bonn

  • Gruppenbild der Delegation

    Gruppenbild der Delegation

  • Begrüßung der Delegation durch die Geschaftsführung der IRZ

    Begrüßung der Delegation durch die Geschaftsführung der IRZ

  • Die Delegation während der Fachgespräche

    Die Delegation während der Fachgespräche

  • Die Delegation während der Fachgespräche

    Die Delegation während der Fachgespräche

Vor dem Hintergrund der am 5. Oktober 2016 in der Ukraine in Kraft tretenden Reformen zum Zwangsvollstreckungsrecht fand vom 19. bis 23. September 2016 in den Räumen der IRZ eine Arbeitstagung mit hochrangigen Vertreterinnen und Vertretern des ukrainischen Justizministeriums, darunter der Stellvertretende Justizminister Serhij Shkljar, statt. Die Geschäftsführerin der IRZ, Veronika Keller-Engels, begrüßte die Delegation.

Die Arbeitstagung widmete sich der Textarbeit an den Durchführungsverordnungen zu den neuen Gesetzen sowie intensiven Fachgesprächen der ukrainischen Delegation mit folgenden deutschen Experten:

  • Ministerialrat Detlef Wasser, Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz (BMJV);
  • Jan Laskowski, Richter am Amtsgericht;
  • Hans-Otto Bartels, Präsident des Landgerichts Aurich und langjähriger IRZ-Experte;
  • Helmut Janssen, Obergerichtsvollzieher aus Wittmund.

Wenngleich die deutschen Experten die teilweise Privatisierung der Zwangsvollstreckung in der Ukraine kritisch beurteilen, so schätzen doch beide Seiten den gegenseitigen fachlichen Austausch als sehr fruchtbar ein.

Die Verhovna Rada verabschiedete am 2. Juni 2016 zwei neue Gesetze, die zu einer weitreichenden Veränderung des Zwangsvollstreckungsrechts führen. Bei den umfassenden Änderungen steht die Einführung eines gemischten Modells im Zentrum, wonach neben staatlichen Gerichtvollstreckern auch private Gerichtsvollstrecker vorgesehen sind. Durch diese Maßnahme erhofft man sich eine deutliche Steigerung der Effizienz und Qualität bei der Zwangsvollstreckung. Seit Jahren unterstützt die IRZ, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem BMJV, die Reformen des ukrainischen Vollstreckungswesens.

Schwerpunktmäßig interessierte sich die ukrainische Delegation für die Beschaffung und Zur-Verfügung-Stellung von Informationen über Schuldner. Bei der Einrichtung von offiziellen Registern, die bislang in der Ukraine nicht vorhanden sind, sowie im Bereich der Aus- und Weiterbildung von Gerichtsvollstreckern erhoffte man sich, von den Erfahrungen der deutschen Kollegen profitieren zu können. Des Weiteren fanden angeregte Diskussionen über die gesetzliche Sonderstellung vereinzelter Unternehmen im ukrainischen Zwangsvollstreckungsrecht statt.

In einem abschließenden Gespräch des Stellvertretenden Justizministers der Ukraine, Serhij Shkljar, mit dem Stellvertretenden Geschäftsführer der IRZ, Dr. Stefan Hülshörster, waren sich beide Parteien darüber einig, dass weiterhin ein großer Bedarf für Unterstützung im Bereich des ukrainische Vollstreckungswesen besteht. Gemeinsam konnten bereits konkrete Schritte für die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit besprochen werden.